Ireland, Waterford to Cork


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cobh
June 24th 2017
Published: June 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 15th June
250 miles took me from east London to Pembroke Dock in south West Wales. By the end the van was chugging a bit, I should have given her a rest on the way, but queues on the North circular gave me little time to stop. The ferry to Rosslare takes 4 hours and headwinds and strong tides give a pitch to the boat that soon sends me to sleep.
I arrive at Lemybrien, where I will be staying with a friend and using his place as a writing retreat.
The weather is warm and sunny and convenient high tides in the middle of the day mean we can swim at Conniger where the waves coming in over a shallow sandbar make the water as warm as the Mediterranean.
Distractions like this mean I'm doing less writing than I intended, but I'm on holiday as well and a walk along the beach informs me of some of the geology of the area.
The next day my host drives me to Lismore, an old castle probably built by the Duke of Devonshire, which offends me as he is a rich English landowner already. Then Stradbally Cove to walk the dogs.
Over the week I do a fair amount of writing, especially when I borrow the neighbour's laptop. Mine seems to require a password which I have forgotten so I'm locked out of it, and typing on my tablet is possible but less speedy. We see the neighbours several times and I get to appreciate the difference between visiting somewhere, and staying with a resident.
Friday 23rd June I leave and drive the scenic Comeragh Drive through the scenic Comeragh Mountains, and on to Cobh, the island in Cork Harbour.
There seems to be more housebuilding going on, and my hosts in both Waterford and Cork confirm that rebuilding is starting up after 10 years of recession.
I park on the harbour front in Cobh and walk up to the Titanic Memorial Park.
The weather, after a week of hot sunny days, is now more temperate, but still dry.
After a week with company it seems strange to be on my own again, bit driving in the van singing along to my own choice of CDs reminds me why I like being on my own.
A night camping on the harbour front means I am where I need to be for Cobh Classic car rally.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb