Why study abroad?


Advertisement
Europe
October 24th 2014
Published: October 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Why study abroad?



10 reasons why studying abroad is the best decision you’ll ever make.




• Learn about yourself and become more self aware


I honestly learnt more about myself in 5 months than in my previous 19 years. You’re set on this amazing journey on your own and you discover new things about yourself everyday





2. Boost your self-confidence and independence

Your independence rockets, from planning your own schedule for classes, travelling on your own, throwing yourself head first into a different culture, you’re no longer there with you parents only a short distance away, its just you and the world and it feels awesome!





3. Learn another language

Learning another language is an amazing experience. Although I studies in the United States, an English speaking country, the different slang words etc is a whole new language in itself. I felt myself starting to say words differently or calling everyday items something I’d never called them before, it was a lot of fun.



4. Learn about your own country

Others asked you so many questions about your own country you start to feel like you’re learning new things about home even though you’re away. I took part in a programme called Global Outreach Leaders, I presented about my home country to a middle school class of children ages 8-10. During my research for the presentation I learnt a lot about Wales and the UK.



5. Expand your worldview

I started to look at things differently and have different opinions about the world and about home.



6. Strengthen adaptability, communications and team-building skills

I was thrown in at the deep end by travelling and studying abroad in a different country on my own, but there were 150 other students there with me all in the same boat. I quickly made friends and ones that’ll be friends for life.



7. Enhance your career opportunities

Imagine going for an interview for your dream job, theres only you and one other candidate, you have the same work experience and qualifications but you studied abroad and they didn’t, chances are that dream job is yours!



8. Experience another culture first hand and enhance your cultural competency

Different cultures are so interesting and intriguing, from learning family backgrounds, different races and religion, to little things like food and drink. I missed Robinson’s squash so much!



9. Make new friends from all over the world

The friends I made whilst abroad are definitely friends for life, I feel like they’re a part of me and my family even thought we are thousands of miles apart. “Distance means so little when people mean so much” – don’t think of it as a goodbye just a see you later.



10.Travel

Travel is a huge plus. People often take gap years to travel but why have to push back your graduation. Travel while you study! In the short period I was in the US I managed to visit several states and even took a trip to Jamaica! Travelling is exciting but don’t forget you’re primarily there to study, work hard and travel hard!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb