Back to the Atlantic Coast


Advertisement
Europe
July 25th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We headed back to the Atlantic coast, it was a day of travel, we caught the train back to Biarritz, thankfully our car was still in tact where we had packed a short walk from the train station.

From Biarritz, we headed back up the coast to our favorite town called, Lacanau Ocean. I think we were both a little concerned because we were heading back in peak holiday season and we weren't really sure if we could manage to get some accommodation.

We decide to try the camping ground that we stayed at last time, sure enough the sign said "COMPLET" - bugger! They had stepped up security as well. We parked the car, and I really wasn't sure how we were going to swing this one. Walking up to the security if GD's best French, he explained to the guy that we were visiting friends (Good thinking GD) he quizzed us as to where they were staying and we just said our old camping lot number, thankfully we got through without having to pay any visitors fees.

Once at reception we were lucky enough to get a site for 7 nights,

We spent the next couple of days cycling through pine tree plantations; we headed down to local food market which sent your sense of smell goes into overdrive, tones of fresh herbs and spices lined up in Hessian bags, snails cooking in a massive round pan. I have to say the worst part was walking past the cheese, it was the middle of the day and the cheese was sitting in the sun, the smell was enough to make you want to spew.

One morning while the waves were really good I got the camera out, I started chatting to Alex a guy GD and I had met the day before. His profession - is one of my many dream jobs - "Surf Photographer" funnily enough I wasn't that interested in shooting the guys when I had such a rare opportunity to pick his brain, he was certainly an inspiring person.

We also spent my birthday in Lacanau, chillin' out by the seaside, and went to a really nice Seaford restaurant in town, I was actually amazed it was completely different to the seafood I ever eaten, more so because they actually gave you a larger meal where are usually here in Oz the portions are so much smaller.

If there is one place that I want to go back to its Lacanau!










Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb