Summer in Europe


Advertisement
Europe
April 12th 2014
Published: April 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Some Fiction and non-fiction - Travel Blog for Education purpose

Summer 2013 in Europe

This travel Blog will highlight some of my favorite places and activities that took place during my trip to Europe last summer.

I began saving money and planning the trip starting around January 2013. I made plans with one of my close friends to spend a month or so in Europe during the summer. We talked an planned for a couple months and finally decided on our flights which had us flying in and out of london with 2 months in between. We originally planned on buying a Euro-rail pass but ended up purchasing a hop-on hop-off bus pass with Busabout (I highly recommend it!).

We had booked separate flights due to the fact that my parents booked my flight with their Airmiles for discounted rates. I flew into London during the last week of June, and immediately got on another flight heading to Edinburgh, Scotland. I met up with my friend from home at the hostel in Edinburgh where we spent 3 nights. I got to reconnect with to Scotts that I had met on a previous trip to Thailand a couple years back. Knowing some locals was good to get around and see things.

After the short stay in Scotland we headed back down to London for 5 nights. London was good to see all the famous sites and ride the tube but besides that it was just a busy city with poor weather. We then headed to Paris for 3 nights, toured around the city, spent a night drinking champagne under the lit up Eiffel Tower. Paris was the start of the Busabout trip.







Here’s a snap shot of all our stops.





I won’t go into too much detail of the trip as I could probably write a book of all the things that took place over the two months. But here’s some highlights from my favorite stops….

Amsterdam was great, I recommend signing up for one of the pub-crawls. Their super cheap and the first hour included unlimited all you can drink (this seemed to be a trend for pub-crawls in Europe).

Berlin was neat to see the old Belin wall and the parts that were still standing, as well as check-point Charlee. I spent one afternoon at a bar called Pirates that was at the end of the wall, the bar was outdoors and was full of sand and beach chairs. So of course the shirts came off and spent the day drinking and enjoying the pretend beach life.

Prague was my favorite on the trip so far, the scenery in the city is amazing. Charles bridge in the heart of the city is amazing with tons of stuff happening at all hours.

Photo taken by myself:









Prague had a pub that I was excited about and had planned on going to. It’s actually called “The Pub” and you can poor your own beer at the table. Sort of like filling up your gas tank, the meter goes up $ as you pull the tap.



Prague also had a 5 story night club at the begging of the Charles bridge, the bottom floor was an icebar.

After prague we headed into Austria, this country is amazing. Vienna is spectacular with all the buildings, monuments and such they have is all great to see. Grunau was a small town we stayed in, which I actually extended my stay here for about 5 nights because I loved it so much. It’s a small town in the middle of the alps. We stayed at a hostel ran by a man named Geerhart (might not be the correct spelling). It was called the treehouse. We spent our days renting bikes and cycling to the top of the hills where there was a restaurant with amazing views, and swimming in the extremely insane cold waters.

And night time was spent down by the river at the hostel, having camp fires with a guitar player, introducing the other travelers to smores (no one knew what they were!). and of course drinking beers, and the homemade cider that Geerhart makes.

After Austria it was on to Munich which was probably my favorite city, the beer-halls there are amazing, great beer (1 litre beers) and amazing food and atmosphere. There was also a man made surfing in a river right in the city. With a great park to hang out during the day, weather you wanted to relax in the sun or have some beers or go for a swim.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb