Cruisin' to St. Petersburg


Advertisement
Europe
August 13th 2013
Published: August 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm not too good at this blogging...somehow yesterday's contribution didn't get published so I just now pushed the button. You'll see two from today (if you're lucky).

Our first stop on our cruise was Copenhagen (København) in Denmark. Both Art and I had visited Denmark before, but it was nice to to enjoy it again through the eyes of our tour guide. Naturally, our first stop was the statue of The Little Mermaid. The Hans Christian Andersen story of a mermaid who falls in love with a prince has a tragic ending and the statue of the mermaid has practically had a tragic ending herself. Her head has been cut off a couple of times, an arm was sawed off, and she's been vandalized by paint, but she is always restored and is still sitting on her stone looking out to sea for us all to admire.

We took a drive around the Tivoli Gardens. Not only are the gardens beautiful but the amusement rides are something to see. In fact, Tivoli is the world's second largest amusement park. Sorry, Worlds of Fun! The bus drove along side one very frightening looking ride called the Demon. Now, I like roller coasters, but I'm not sure even I would ride that one!

We saw Denmark's Queen Margethe's home, the Amaleinborg palace. I think I'm glad I'm not royalty for many reasons, not the least of which is that I would hate to have tour buses and strangers crawling all over my front yard. There is a complex of 4 "mansions". The queen resides in two which are connected by a walkway, the crown prince resides in a third, and a fourth is reserved for company. Sounds like quite a life if you don't mind all the gawkers.

We celebrated Art's birthday on the 9th with a very nice steak dinner in a special restaurant on the ship. We had to pay extra but it was worth it.

Getting to know my way around the ship is a little difficult for me but I haven't had to send out the troops to look for me yet. My guess is that by the time the cruise is over I'll be able to get anywhere blindfolded!

I'll try to add pictures later. I don't have my connecting cord with me and as some of you can imagine, it's a LONG way back to my cabin.

Carol

Advertisement



13th August 2013

Cruising the seas
Looking forward to photos
13th August 2013

Cruising the seas
Looking forward to photos

Tot: 2.973s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb