Cruisin' to St. Petersburg


Advertisement
Europe
August 15th 2013
Published: August 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

As you can see, I've added our profile picture. The photo is from on our ship, the Carnival Legend. It was taken directly after we boarded, located our room, and found our way back up to the deck.

Getting to the ship was not as difficult as I was afraid it might be...

Both flights were uneventful.

As I sat in the airport in Kansas City and realized I was boarding a flight to London, it dawned on me just how great a trip this was going to be. I'd flown to London decades (yes, decades) ago, but I was so young I didn't realize just what I was doing. Now that I'm older with at least some wisdom, I am almost in awe of the fact that I can be in Kansas City, step on a plane, and with just one more step on a plane be several thousand miles away, across the ocean, on another continent. I someimes am too maudlin for my own good and this may have been one of them.

MCIPHL was ontime but not a very smooth flight. There were brief moments of calm but mostly the ship vibrated the entire trip. Once landing in PHL, I made my way to gate A23, a hefty hike, and Art and I waited for flight US728 to board. That flight was also on time and uneventful and LONG. Sleep was very difficult. We had asked if there was any way we could upgrade and were told yes, we could, for $900 each. We declined.

We took a taxi to our hotel, the Double Tree Heathrow, as we were too tired to try and figure out the buses. Our room in the hotel was very nice as was our dinner. Breakfast was on the hotel the next morning, and after enjoying it early (no real sleep yet) we taxied back to the airport to be transported to the pier.

I should have added that the trip from London to Dover was a 2 1/2 to 3 hour bus ride. And yes, I've now seen the white cliffs of Dover! They are amazing.

Boarding the ship was extremely easy and thus we were on our way to our 12 nights of cruising bliss!

You're reading this so late because we've had terrible connection problems and we've been on our full day excursions. More will follow to catch up.

Carol

Advertisement



13th August 2013

Glad you are blogging
Can't wait to read more.

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb