World Cup Fever


Advertisement
Europe
June 10th 2006
Published: June 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After my last entry we caved in and went to the biggest tourist trap to guarantee getting a hamburger (and not getting fish)... hard rock cafe. We've been good about eating local cuisine up till this point but I was missing american food. I wanted mustard for my burger and ketchup for my fries. I also wanted salt and pepper on the table. I´ve missed simple things like lettuce in my salad. After dinner we walked across the street to the Hofbrauhas (sp?) the most touristy beer garden here. The place was PACKED with drunk soccer fans draped in flags of their home counties (and hats and mohawks and face paint...) chanting and singing for their home countries. We were happy to hear a small but loud group of americans chanting "U-S-A" when we first walked in. All the other countries booed at the Americans 😞 It was too crowded and hot inside so we settled in the open garden in the back which was predominantly Costa Ricans chanting "Ole Ole Ole Ole Tikos Tikos". Every once in a while the Germans would chant or sing back. I´ve had the german world cup song stuck in my head for the last
HofbrauhausHofbrauhausHofbrauhaus

This place was really dead... and the beers were really small.
two days now. I first heard it in Vienna on MTV but you can't escape the song here. It plays in the streets and drunk people sing it wherever you go. I have no clue what they're saying but the tune is very catchy.
This morning was our bike tour. It was a really good time. If anyone is planning on going to Munich I highly recommend Mike's bike tour. The guides were very funny and knowledgable and took us to a lot of historical monuments as well as a ride through a nudist park, a part of the river where people surf and a 1 hour stop in the Chinese Tower beer garden. After our tour we came back to change and headed out to the Olympic fan center to see the game. It was playing the game on a large screen in the center of the stadium and was the city's suggested alternative to Marienplatz to see the game. When we got on the s-bahn to get there we knew we were in trouble. It was so crowded I had to stand on my toes to get any air (my claustrophobia kicked in). There were a flood of
PretzelPretzelPretzel

Everything's bigger in Munich
people rushing to the olympic center but before we got there we ran into some Americans from our bike tour who said the park closed because it was full. We ended up going back to the Chinese Tower beer garden which was so packed with German fans that we couldn't see the large screen there. German fans are very spirited. One German girl let me up on a bench next to her to finish watching the game. When it was over she said something to me in German that I didn't understand and a bunch of German fans turned to look at me. I didn't know what to say so I said "we won" they laughed and cheered. I don't think I answered her question but the answer seemed to go over well. The beer garden was 98% German so I didn't want them to know I was secretly rooting for Costa Rica. We stayed and watched the second came Equador vs Poland and I had the boys walk me back here because my back was killing me. Alistair and Ryan are a little... tipsy. I sent them back out to drink without me. They keep singing the Costa Rica song which I keep telling them might not be cool but there's no stopping them. In the last 48 hours Munich has gotten progessively more crowded, ethnically diverse, more spirited and more drunk. Quite the ending to our little trip through Europe.
We decided to lay low and relax tomorrow as it's our last full day here. I'm on a quest for a back massage and the boys need to go to their 282nd world cup sporting goods store. We're on our way home Sunday at 1pm and should be back in LA around 6:30pm. Looking forward to ditching my backpack, being able to wear different clothes, sleeping in my bed and playing with the little Bij.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

River SurfingRiver Surfing
River Surfing

Invented by an American.
Chineese Tower Beer GardenChineese Tower Beer Garden
Chineese Tower Beer Garden

I wonder why they call it Chineese Tower :/
Chineese Tower Beer GardenChineese Tower Beer Garden
Chineese Tower Beer Garden

A small portion of the hundreds of German fans watching the game at the beer garden.
Yay! We won!Yay! We won!
Yay! We won!

No trip to a country would be complete without another drunk picture of the 3 of us...
Ummm alistair....Ummm alistair....
Ummm alistair....

Luckily the German police played along and smiled in this picture... I think if he had tried this in Prague, he would have been hauled off.
LAXLAX
LAX

Back home in LA. Bring on the jetlag...


10th June 2006

go out with a bang chachi BANG!
i know at the end of a trip you want to relax but you can rest on the plane and when you get back! you guys should go completely crazy on your last full day there. when is the next time you will take a trip like this?! eat bratwurst and drink beer to you burst! go for the gold chachi GOLD!

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb