I would like to buy un hammbugeerrr


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 8th 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Made it to our final destination after being eaten alive by mosquitos last night (our windows were open). My face is covered in bites and it looks and feels like I have chicken pox.
Our alarms went off at 3:45am and we all jumped up to get to the water taxi. We got to the airport early so we had our 800th cup of cappuccino while we waited for our check-in window to open. I think the flight company was called Condor Flurgenhurgen (not even close on the 2nd word that's just what we've been calling it). After going through security and finally being called to board we walked down a long hallway and a few flights of stairs and ended up at a bus. We thought maybe flurgenhurgen was german for "magical flying bus" (like the one in Sky High). The bus just had to shuttle us a ways out to get to our plane. The flight was very short and there was a camera mounted on the front of the plane which was cool to watch during take-off and landing. After the plane landed we took a shuttle to the Munich train station and walked to our hotel from
MunichMunichMunich

Another view from the tower.
there. I think I've been on enough busses, trains, boats and planes to last a lifetime. Our hotel is the most "modest" of all the places we've stayed (read: no bueno), but it's World Cup frenzy so we expected this. We dropped off our bags and went to the main strip downtown. I was craving good old american food and just wanted a hamburger for lunch so we went from restaurant to restaurant reading menus till we found one with hamburger on it. Luckily Ryan asked our waitress if the hamburger was american style. She laughed at us (stupid americans) and said that hamburger is actually fish. :/ So I got fried Camembert again. That menu was nuts and I knew Frau Waitress would kick my ass if I didn't eat something. After lunch we went to the St Peter Church tower and took the 300+ steps to the top. The view up there was great and you could see the Alps in the distance. The rest of the day (so far... it´s only 4:45pm) I've spent following the guys into every sporting store to look at world cup souviners. I told them they have to follow me shoe shopping
Munich StadiumMunich StadiumMunich Stadium

I think they built this stadium in Munich just for the World Cup. I guess the World cup is kind of a big deal here... and everywhere else in the world... except the US.
tomorrow. Today feels like the longest day ever (guess that makes sense considering we got up at 3:45). Did I mention I saw the sun rise over the water in Venice? Very beautiful. Plans for Munich are to eat American food tonight (Ryan ended up eating some type of local meatloaf which tasted like spam for lunch) and bike ride tomorrow. I think we're going to be in the main square for the game tomorrow. There's a lot of national pride groups there right now. I think Costa Rica was the largest. Jerry and Sarah- You'll be happy to know there were 4 enthusiastic Koreans draped in flags cheering into a camera. Saturday we might go to an Impressionist Museum. Sunday we come home. I heard an announcment at the airport today that there is "heightened security" in America which requires extra check-in time. Anyone know what's going on with this? Did Bush raise the flag color up a level?

Advertisement



8th June 2006

Kooooooooreeanssszzzzz!!!
gooooooo korea! i think we suck though. oh well i like cheering for the U.S. better. i don't know anything about the heightened security. we killed zarqawi so terrorists might be miffed. nice sky high and pink panther reference btw. :) i was lucky enough to work on both of those.

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb