More on Europe


Advertisement
Europe
July 13th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's weird reading your own blog. Revisiting past adventures and feelings you've forgotten about. I keep thinking that I should write more about Europe because I hardly wrote about my first month so here goes.
I ended off in tarragona. I then spent one night in Barcelona which was me chilling in my hostel just being bored an lazy, skyping people, doing some research, you know. The guy working had some great music playing so that was a bonus.
The next day I decided I would go to Nice, France. This was my first spontaneous destination. it's funny because as my friends and I discove over and over again, spontaneousness leaves no space for disappontment. That being said, I absolutely lived it there! I wasn't exactly sure why but there was a great atmosphere a liveliness. Maybe it has something to do with this energy concept I haven't quite figured out but I could sense something. 😊 I would walk down the street and I have to say it was one of the most quiet cities I've been in but I felt like I was surrounded by a huge party where everyone knew each other and people were laughing and having a great time. 
(side note: I'm in my hostel in patong, phuket having another lazy day and I can't help but laugh. My roomie is this absolutely NUTS guy from around Liverpool. Ohhh maaaaan!! He's a good laugh for sure.)
Carrying on, I randomly came across a set of stairs in Nice. A set of stairs... ooookay! So what doe you do when you find stairs at the end of a street? You discover something new! About 20 minutes later of random stairs and roads and paths, I found myself at this amazing view point. It used to be like a castle or a fortress or something and from there you can see all of Nice and any potential invaders! Pretty amazing! 
After that I spent some good time at the beach infact one day I sat cross legged making hemp bracelets and my legs burnt. So weird tho because it was just the inside of my legs right! After I got burnt, the next day I couldn't affor to go to the beach so that morning I decided on doing a day trip out to Monaco.
When you arrive in Monaco there's this big long tunnel you have to walk through to get into the city and inside were some people selling poster for the grand prix. I just kept walking thinking absolutely nothing about it even wondering why they were there. Once I got outside of the tunnel, there was this NOISE!! I couldn't believe how loud it was! And was like, what the heck is THAT?! that's when I clued in. Jeez! Out of all the random days I could have been in Nice, or have gone to Monaco, the grand prix was taking place. I considered buying tickets until I saw the price. The cheapest were at I think €80 and there's no way I was going to pay that much so I went on a search to find a free view.
As facebook photos have indicated, I found a spot and a pretty good one! It was pretty cool to see something like that in real life I have to say.
I sat on this rail type thing overlooking the starting line where a whole bunch of people were gathered. In between races I bought a sandwich and again claimed a good spot before the race began. 
Traveling in Europe is a crazy thing in terms of languages. You hop on a train and half an hour later everyone speaks another language. As weird as it is when you hear your language it still takes a minute to process the rariety of it.
As I ate my sandwich some people ended up standing behind me and I paid no attention for a while and then was lien, whoa! English! And one of the Gus said, isn't it awkward sitting on an angle like that? I turned and nodded and went back to my sandwich. Eventually we started talking and they were other single backpackers doing cool things. One guys Simon was from Germany and the other, Travis. Travis was telling me all about his adventures and what he's doing and you can check it out for yourself if you want at trekkingwithtrav.com it's kinda cool! 😊 
(Travis if you read this, you owe me $20 for the ad. Jk)
The three of us chilled a while watching the race, talking and stuff and then we decided it was adventure time.
There was a beautiful beautiful secluded swimming area where we swam a while and actually tried to swim way out to sea where this huge yacht thing was. We made it half way and then thought that you know, death wouldn't be too fun this early in the game as there were boats flying through mixed with big waves making two people just a mere speck in the water, almost undetectable.
Iater that night, my last night in Nice, I thought I'd make something of it so I went on lone adventure into town where I watched a cool street performance of these guys doing some dance and made my way into the old part of town. That was amazing! That's when that amazing vibe came into a spectacular sight. I have never in my entire life seen so Many people in one area eating together. Small groups and big groups just restaurant after restaurant. It was amazing to see!
In the old part of town there are also these tiny little back streets. Narrow as can be an even there you can find a cafe or restaurant brimming with friendships.
The next coolest thing was a walking band I found playing Mumford and Sons! No way right?! They were great! Just another ingredient in the mix. 
What a great city. That was a great 4 days.
I then moved on to Pisa where I found a temporary family. You know, that is one of the most spectacular things that happens while your traveling, forming families. Little to big groups of people that just travel and do things together.
Pisa is where I meet my friend from France who spoke amazing English, Spanish portugese and of course French. Smart cookie that one. We talked a bunch, I heard some cool stories again and we ate some good food!! Haha. She shared her salad with me. 😊 yum yum yum. The next day these other two girls arrived and we became a crew. They were so nice.
During these days in Pisa I saw the leaning tower, and made 2 day trips out to cinque terre. One of my favourite places on earth. 
Then, one of my favourite times in europe, we heard there was a folk concert in town. Alright, so we get there and it was basically all these older people in this large concert hall. HAA!! Got you!! I'm kidding. It was much cooler than that. (did you really think that one of my top times traveling was sitting listening to folk music?) we got there and basically it was an Italian hippy hangout party/ concert! So cool! We were all jamming out, dancing, and noshing to A band with an accordian! YEAHH we did. Aw man, just such a cool thing. May favourite part of all of that was at the very end. The lead singer told everyone (in Italian) to put your pinkies in the air and link with someone. What ended up happening was a huuuuuuuuuge circle of people all joined together and it was like someone said, 'look at everyone here! We might not know each other but were all here for the same reason. Were all people and we can all have fun together!'
Then, THEN, the music started playing again!! Haha. As one, we danced!! :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb