In the 100,s


Advertisement
Europe
October 25th 2010
Published: October 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well the adventure continues,
Tonight Helen and I are in a town called Sariea it is at about the 134 kilometer mark. Since I last wrote we have had some great experinces and some challlenges.
I finally saw the Knights Templar castle and it was cool, sat watching it from a cafe enjoying a coffee with an Austrailian who was a lot of fun He and Helen relived their misspent youth traveling through the world. We have seen the first of the bus loads of people who do the it the easy way they looked like they were having fun. I have discovered the delight of beer with lime and that I too snore to beat the band. That morning we were up early and walked by moon light it was lovely but a bit difficult finding the yellow arrows.
We have stayed in a variety of accomadations some lovely and some really spartan one was in a Church courtyard and it was like we each had our own little garden shed the chill of the frost included. They specailized in cool showers and cold water for washing clothes. The night before we came up and over the last big hill we stayed in a great place, it was like being in some ones home, great food, our clothes washed and dried and lovely music yeh, Helen even treated herself to a massage that had been a long day 27 kilometer with a climb but the scenary was amazing as we moved towards Glaciea. They served chesnut jam with the toast for breakfast and played Pavaroti to wake up to.
This was the morning of the big climb our really last big challenge and I am very greatful that I did not know what I was in for. We had a great begining a bit of rain, not too bad seemed like mountain mist then we hit what we thought was the top celebrated with gralic soup (really good) and then it started it rained and rained and blew and we still keeped going up and a little down and up. We had to watch for the cow poop as it made things even more slippery. When we hit what was the real top of this hill I was not willing to take off my poncho or my back pack as I knew I would quit there and then - we still had 3 kilometers of down hill. As you can imagine the site of that albergue was so welcome I just about kissed the owner. We were wet through and a little chilled. Still managed to take a few good picks and luckily we were able to eat there in the evening and the morning.
I have to make a correction the boat is still on the hill, the mule is travelling with a young man and a dog they are going to travel together for a long time. I also saw a woman pushing a 2 year old in a stroller and she has started at the same place we did. I am no longer a fan of ham cheese and bread sandwiches but I have enjoyed the tomates here.
Our feet are holding out not too bad and other than the occassional ache and pain we are feeling like we may make the finish line. I do understand when they warn you not to bring too much, I have been reading a book and I am looking forward to leaving it behind. The lighter the better. Tomorrow we will be down to the 95 kilometer mark and in with the crowd of folk who only do 100 kilometers Helen wants to get in and out of Santiago as quiclky as she can as the pope is coming we time this just right I Think. well that is it for now the fall is here and I find myself thinking of Halloween and the fun you will all be having.
People say Bein camino to us all day so Best regards to you all out there. From Anne on the Camino.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb