Vienna, Munich, Prague and Budapest


Advertisement
Europe
November 27th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've just returned from my adventures around 'Eastern' Europe.

First, I spent 2 nights in Vienna. I spent the days seeing the sights and the nights drinking punch or hot wine at the Christmas Markets. The ones near the Rathaus are amazing. We just don't have anything like it in Australia - they're just so Christmassy! Luckily I didn't have much money or I would have been buying everything! There are also some great ones at the Schonbronn Palace.

Then I took the night bus to Munich, which was fine - I slept most of the way, although it was freezing when I arrived in Munich at 6am and I couldn't figure out how to buy a metro ticket. But I made it to the hostel and luckily the staff were in a good mood and they gave me an empty room so I could get a couple more of hours sleep. I then wandered around the city and went out to Dachau. The next day I took the train to the Neuweinstein Castle (a 'fairy tale' castle in the Bavarian forest). It was very misty so the view of it wasn't great. But it was good anyway - just to go and say that I've been there.

Then I took the train to Prague. It should have only take me 3 trains and 6 hours to get there but as I got to the second station my train was pulling out, so I missed the direct train to Prague. I then had to take 3 more trains to get there (or wait 6 hours at a tiny station on the German border for the next direct train). It was actually quite fun - there aren't proper platforms in the Czech Republic so you just have to wait for the train to stop and then clamber over the tracks and climb aboard.

I spent 3 nights in Prague and explored both sides of the river - seeing all the major sights, like the Castle, the monastery, the clock in the main square, etc.

I then went to a little town called Cesky Krumlov which is on the UNESCO world heritage list because it is one of the best preserved medieval towns around. It was cute, but it took me 3 hours to get there and I managed to walk around it in 2 hours! But it was fun to go into the little shops, selling all the Christmas stuff and to just relax. The hostel was a bit of a dump (there were mice in the kitchen!), but you cant have everything! I've also just learnt it was the hostel used in the movie 'Hostel'!!

I spent another night in Prague afterwards and then went to Budapest. I meet a friend there, which was great (we were in Italy together on the language course). After spending almost 2 weeks by myself it was good to have someone to talk to. We did all the main sights in one day and then went to a small artists village just outside the city.

They also had a Christmas market in one of the large squares and it became our favourite place to eat - you could get a hearty meal of meat and potatoes for under 5 euros. Both Prague and Budapest were extremely cheap.

Its funny - I have a list of places I want to go, and each time I cross one off I seem to add another one (or two) - this time its Croatia and Poland. Meeting other people in these hostels is great for getting ideas on what to do and see.

I'm now back in Salisbury for a week or so until I start the nanny job in France.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb