Only two more weeks left!


Advertisement
Europe
December 1st 2009
Published: December 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kuba and I stayed on the olive farm in Piazza Armerina for a week helping to pick olives and do other random things. Like at the other farm the description said that they don't eat much meat but they actually ate meat all the time. For the most part it wasn't too bad because Sicilian food has more spice, which I like. Usually when I travel I try hard to not turn my nose up at the local food. I eaten some strange things in my days, including piranha, pretty much an entire octapus (more on that later), and salivia-fermented corn. But I finally met my match. One night the mom brought out bean soup. Fine, I like beans. It had pork in it, which was alright with me. But when she sat the bowl down in front of me the dad somehow found the English to exclaim, "Beans! Pig skin!" Now I would have tried it, really, because after all what American child didn't eat pork rinds not knowing what they were? The problem was that it was cooked to the consistancy of actual skin, and not only that there were still pig hairs sticking out of it like it was freshly ripped from the pig. I felt so bad, but I just couldn't do it.
When we left the farm I was slightly relieved to be able to pick out our own food again. From Piazza Armerina we went to Catania. Catania was really nice. The city is right by Mt. Etna and made from black volcanic bricks. The first night we headed for a restaurant excited for some vegetables. Kuba ordered a salad which he thought translated to "salad of the people". When they came out with his salad we realized we were sorely mistaken as it was actually a bunch of octapus legs on a plate. It was great because I almost ordered one but decided not to and instead got to watch Kuba choke down a plate of octapus legs. I laughed until they came out with my meal, pasta marinara, which turned out to be some pasta with the same octapus legs on top. Mine even contained an intact baby octapus, minus the head.
The next day was my birthday and we were luckily able to steer clear of any strange meats. It was a good, though strange, birthday. Because I'm spoiled my mom paid for us to stay in a four star hotel and it was awesome! Kuba insisted on drinking out of the mini fridge (such a sin) to make mimosas in the morning. It felt strange moving from our trashy hostel to this nice hotel. The guy at reception asked us where we just came from and I lied and said we just got in from Piazza Armerina because I was too shamed.

Advertisement



2nd December 2009

FOOD
Okay, so starting to see a pattern here. .. you seem to be eating strange foods as you make your way through Italy. Seriously, pig skin with hair on it??? YUCK. . .think I just threw up a little bit in my mouth! LOL! So when you come home, I promise to have all the foods you like. . pasta salad, brie, grilled cheese sandwiches Nutter Butter cookies, chocolate chip cookies, Reese's Pieces cereal. . .is your mouth watering yet??? So glad you enjoyed your 4 star hotel. . and no you are NOT spoiled. . .just well taken care of! Seems like you have been gone FOREVER! Counting down the days and until you return. Enjoy your time and try to stay away from stranger food. . .if possible!! Love to you both! Again, laughing at your blogs. .so glad you found the time to keep up with them. . .you will be able to look back and recall all the great memories you have made on your journey!
2nd December 2009

Love it!
I love reading your blog! Thanks for taking the time to share your adventure with all of us and let us live vicariously through you! Love you and enjoy your last two weeks. 24 days til Hawaii baby!
4th December 2009

Octopus and other meats
ooh Sara I'm with you. No pig skin (especially with hair still on it) and no octopus either. Octopus would be your sisters thing I think. I emailed you on your birthday. Did you get it? If not, happy birthday late. I have been to Catania. Went there 2 or 3 times. I'm sitting here waiting for the installation crew to come and install our new flooring. You should see the house. No rug or linoleum downstairs and no toilet in the downstairs bathroom. Mom took some pictures. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Love, dad

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb