Last few days, gotta make 'em count, but how?


Advertisement
Europe
October 15th 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I actually woke up before noon today and left for Düsseldorf. I had an exra day to use on my little pass so I though why not go to Düsseldorf. As it turns out it is much much closer than I thought. 20 minutes on the train. I spent a few hours walking around the Alt Stadt (Old City) and then couldn't figure out what to do from then so I just went back to Köln.

Alt Stadt, not much really left because of the war and all. What with getting bombed, didn't do much for preserving history. But what is left was left in remarable condition, and I'm sure that there has been lots of renovating over the last 50 years.

It seems like most of Germany is all shopping. I've never seen so many, and so large, outdoor shopping centers. They all have a large Kaufthaus, multiple floors of everything else that you couldn't find in the shopping centers.

Going into the grocery stores, my god to these people like their packaging, there isn't really much in the way of things. There are lots of these little stores, and it seems like some have what you are looking for and the others have the rest. You have to pack all your stuff, which is fine, except I kept forgetting my bags, and today I decided to be really stubborn and carry all my stuff. Arm full and all. I wasn't gunna buy any more of these damn bags. Screw that noise. Finding Q-tips was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be. They were hiding on the very bottom shelf next to foot pads, the kind of foot pads that people put into high heels, next to those. I would have never thought to look for ear things next to feet things. But what the hell.

I got a double dose of Deutche. I've never seen so many chubby and rosy cheeked people in my life. It's super! The Italians that I've met think I look German, but the germans think I look American. What ever. All you have to do is look around the street and see a whole bunch of people with rosacia and chubby cheeks and think, yep we all came from the same stock. Meggan if your reading this, you look very Irish. There was this little Irish girl I met and you two could be twins. Wierd.
The cable car that goes over one of the bridges to the north, Super awsome, but definately not for people that are closterphobic or afraid of hights. Other wise really cool, and
I have this discount card so it was only 2,50 euro (one way, but I only needed one way).

Rabbits: there aren't really any rodents around, not even in the parks. But as it turns out everyone seems to have a kid that has a rabbit as a pet or knows someone with a rabbit as a pet. In all the stores that are here they have dog food, cat food, and rabbit food all together. So there must be a lot of rabbits around this city.

Currywurst: Some of them are really good, others are like barbeque sauce with curry powder ontop. Not so good. All the currywurst in Berlin was super tasty. I think that everyone should sent trainees over to Berlin so that they can learn how to make the stuff. But perhaps they are looking for some kind of variety.I don't know.

I only have 4 days remaining in Europe, and am running out of things to see, at least in the cities I'm going to, and am wondering how much some of these train tickets really cost because I'd like to at least get across the boarder into France. Even if it's just one of the border cities, at least I can say that I was in France. Brussels isn't all that far away from some French places, maybe I'll try to hit oup one of those cities before I leave.

I got a hold of my little Italian friends they uploaded some of the pictures from Berlin, they didn't turn out all that well, but at least they are there, on facebook anyhow.

So that's it really, not much going on.

Did a little mullet hunting today to fill in some time. I got some really good ones, but missed the 4 brothers with matching mullets with blond highlights. Who ever thought that mullets were ever in style or to bring them back was or rather has a very sick sence of humor.

-Kati

P.S.
I know I have bad spelling. Not sorry enough to change it though.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb