Cologne (Köln)


Advertisement
Europe
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got up really early this morning, much to my dismay. I had just gotten to bed when my alarm went off. So goes life. I was really excited to get the hell out of Untertürkheim, Stuttgart. That place just gave me the creaps. The hostle where I was staying, the lady was nice but a really big nosy person. She had installed cameras on every floor, but none outside, just to give you a taste. And they were controlled in her office with 360deg vision. "I like to know what goes on in my hostle" she said to me one day. Yeah, great, but do you have to watch us? I mean one of the cameras is situated across from both the WC and Showers. I don't know it just seemed like a weird thing to do. Have cameras on every floor but not one outside the front door where you need to see if someone needs to be let in. There wasn't any signs for the hostle either. Some of these hostles just have a 81/2 X 11 size sheet outside of the door, or next to something else like that with an arrow. But this place didn't have anything. Not to mention the fact that the place I made my booking through had the wrong address. 356A is a Nail Salon, 356 is the Hoslte; not that you'd know any way with no sign. Anyhoo I'm just glad to be out of there.
The train ride over to Köln was short, but that train was packed. It was really hard to find a seat that wasn't reserved. I refuse to reserve a seat because that would mean I'd have to spend more money on train rides, and that just isn't happening. So I walked the length of two cars before I got a seat. Well worth it because there were people that didn't have as much patience as I and stood in the back of the car. Losers, jsut find a seat already and wipe that indignant look off your face. It's a train.
Once I got here it was down hill. The hostle is connected to a McDonnalds, which is kinda weird. I made it to the Dom Köln this afternoon trying to look for a Deutche Bank. Found it, and a monument. Super! There is this shopping thing that is an outdoor shopping center, huge! I must have walked through the entire thing. I could see the Dom spires poking out, and would try to follow it, ending up down another shopping street. It was getting a little old after a while. I found the thing though.
It is Frekin! cold out today. Crisp, windy, and just plain cold! Last night I was running a fever, mild but fever none the less, and so today when I was feeling better I though I'd leave my scarf in the hostle because I usually end up not needing it. Well I definately though wrong today. I really needed that thing.
A not on Apoteks. Asprin is all you can buy. If anyone knows differently please respond to this. Not that Aspirin isn't good, but some Ibuprofrine, Motrin, or Excedrin would be nice. Most of these places are also mainly wholistic, tea, gells, all that hippy shit. Yes it is great that they are thinking in a more sustainable way, not pumping their bodies full of chemicals that makes their asses leak, want to commit suicide, or whatever else those damn pharmacudicals make you do, but they don't knock your ass out for 48 hours making you the happiest damn person in the world who just got over a cold, or flu.
Launromats. I will never make fun of American laundromats ever again. Try to find one out here. I dare you. If you find more that two per city I'll personally kiss your shoes. Having someone do your laundry is one thing, but I just got here and I've got to pay 2euro for a complete stranger to wash my clothes and have them hanging on display because they don't have a dryer. Damn. It's one thing to have them wash them another to have everyone looking at your undies! Oh well, modesty later. I need clean clothes. I don't think I have enough money to go buying more. Nor do I want to haul more around with me.
There's tuns to do in this city. There's a chocolate museum here. Hells yes. So Yeah, I might not be writing every day, but I've only got like 9 days left in Europe so for those of you in California see you soon.

-Kati

Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb