more travel woes from betata


Advertisement
Europe
September 20th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
I feel I am writing and sending these blogs into the great unknown because I don't know if they get there or not.
Anyway I hope you got my last tale of woe yesterday - the saga continues here and it is all a tale of woe. Bob the prick - continues to drive me up the wall - things came to a head yesterday with a shouting match between us and he called me madam - I reminded him that I was a paying guest who felt robbed. The six other ramblers watched in horror - mouths hanging open , George intervened and in the interest of the others , I have called a truce. I would love to debunk but we are so remote and stuck in this hell hole. I did tell you the dinner menu of instant everything included a big blob of instant mashed potatoes on the plate every dinner time. Last night was the best dinner yet, we had 2 sausages, one egg and 6 chips - quite delicious. Bob a 6'6 man from Yorkshire practically licked the plate, he whispered to me he would like a few more chips but didn't want to bother anyone. I refused to do the dirty work for him, they all tolerate smelly cold damp rooms, disgusting food, cold showers, and long frog marches to see nothing - nobody complains except me and they are shocked. The fellow ramblers are the stoic never complaining type , even thought one or two have whispered to me we might die of malnourishment - the fairy cakes we get for breakfast come out of a packet along with 2 rusks. We are expected to frog march 30 klm on this crap. My cold has gone slightly deeper and because our surroundings are so miserable and cold and cheerless I struggle out every day to the very dreary landscape around here.
My poor old aunt Joe died last night in Dublin and I am buying a bottle of cava (champagne) tomorrow to drink to her with the fellow inmates here. Chris one of our fellow ramblers is a former nun from Cork, she whispers so for George and I are hard of hearing but when we catch what she has to say we find her very funny and refreshing. I wish I could write a story about this saga but this instant communication will refresh my memory - perhaps it would be better to forget.
Dinner is going to be soon and since all the shops are close because this is Sunday we are starving, I would love to have the sausage, egg and chips again but that would be too much to expect.George is coping very well with all this rubbish and like all the other uncomplaining souls accepts his lot but privately complains to me all the time.
Cheers, Marie


Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb