Making the most of it...


Advertisement
Europe
September 10th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My free internet that is... Even though i only updated you all yesterday i feel like because i usually speak to you everyday i should be allowed the right to write you everyday or however often i like. It may be a bunch of useless nonsense but who cares. i feel like writing so i will.

When one travels- well when i travel- i always have this constant nagging in the back of my head about money this money that. Why cant i just be rich and enjoy all that this great nation has to offer? We complain about the price of public transport in Melbourne. Try being in Greece and having to pay 1.40 euro for a one time bus ride. so if you are needing to change buses thats another 1.4 euro.. etc. and there wasnt such thing as a daily pass. but now in rome it is more reasonable..

My legs are feeling it. everyday they are constantly on the move. and i realise sometimes that i am actually coaxing them along. just another step just antoehr one. I have no doubt that my leg muscles will be huge my the end of this trip.

Although i still have a month and a bit of my constant moving around i am finding myself constantly thinking of my last month in europe and being uber excited to see everyone in Wales. also going up to copenhagen and seeing london again. I think its beacuse i may feel a little more relaxed then as i wont be picking up and moving every 3 days. it does take a hell of a lot out of you. i could never be a nomad. having a single home and a single bed to go to ebery night is something i need. i guess its thrown me out of whack a bit.

I am also surprisingly missing driving. Maybe its just the luxury of being able to go where i want when i want and not having to sit on a bus or a train or wait at a bustop... What else is there? Mum-Dad... i think when i go up to Copenhagen you may have to send me some vegemite and milo. Its hard when im moving all the time but maybe because hopefully ill be staying in karens dorm you can send it there. the only spreads they have here are jam, honey and NUTELLA. i swear they have only just discovered it. as it is in pyramid stacks all over every city. Even in the supermarket at this campsite there is a 5kg jar of it sitting on the shelf. And its not novelty... it actually has nutella in it.

Anyway i hope this hasnt been too much of a drag but i just needed to vent and talk crap. Silence seems to be a big part of this trip so i have told Bianca i need to work on my small talk...

So are you liking the weather today?


Advertisement



14th September 2009

From Frankie
Hi Eliza, Frankie here-worked out how to access this blog!!. I've been LOL at some of your comments and it reminds me so much of my own experience many many years ago. Yes travelling like you are and being constantly on the move is really tiring so if you get the chance to just stay an extra day and sit in a park-do it. Now and again it's worth treating yourself to a nice meal too- eat bread and cheese for a week so you can afford a treat! I had to laugh at the description of your accomodation in Greece- I swear i stayed in the same kennel 30 years ago. And the last ferry- no different. I'm glad you loved Rome. I was only there for as few days and got hassled by gypsies so my memories are less happy! But i loved Sienna and hope you do too! We stayed in a hostel in a convent! Take care and enjoy. Don't think about the end until it arrives! The time will fly and before you know it you will be back in the same old home routine! Lots of love Frankie xxx

Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb