Oslo


Advertisement
Europe
September 6th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oslo FountainOslo FountainOslo Fountain

In the city center on main streeet
Stayed with a CSer the first night and we cooked a delicious meal of pasta, chicken, and tons of veggies!! Finished it off with some fine Swiss chocolate 😊

The next day, was out and about most of the day, really just enjoying walking around. I don't think Oslo is a very pretty city in terms of architecture but I did really like it. Went to the botanical gardens for awhile... I think the STL one is better but this was still very good. There were lots of cute kids - two girls learning to ride bikes, another girl playing with the umbrella in the wind and turning it inside out haha.

One of my favorite places I went was the Intercultural Museum- it's very small and only has one exhibit at a time. The current one is on the 6 main minority religions in Norway (Buddhism, Sikhism, Hinduism, Catholicism, Judaism, and Islam). They had a small room with some side pockets for each religion - short description of the history of the religion in Norway and how it is today, pictures of practitioners, movies, and what I loved was a recreation of the main church/mosque/temple of that religioin in Oslo. I thought it was interesting that Catholicism is a minority but there are actually a lot less practicing Catholics then some of the other minority religions (now only about 45,000 Catholics). Catholicism used to be the main religion but after the Reformation, Lutheranism took over and is now the state religion.

Walked along the main street (Karl Johans Gate) looking at buildings, people. The Royal Palace was kind of plain, I thought. But, walked all the way to the west side of the city through some really nice neighborhoods, and got to Vigeland Park. At the entrance was a huge playground with tons of kids and families - I wished I had someone to play with!! Down the main walkway of the park, there are three areas with tons of sculptures: kids playing with each other, child and parents, couples. It's really beautiful, especially some of the facial expressions of the statues of kids 😊

Went to mass at a nice church - I love these smaller churches that are very simple but have beautiful stained glass! I think the mass was said in Polish - regardless, I didn't understand the language but it was still great.

Slept at a hostel the second night and met an American guy from Arizona who loves the Cardinals!!! Informed me that we're 9 games up, woohoo!

Advertisement



14th September 2009

i wanna play there with uuuu!!!!!!!! btw, the dodgers are a game ahead of the cards in the national league overall 1st place...and how could the braves sweep u in 3 games!!! I think the dodgers are looking good! muah!
15th September 2009

5 more days!
Hi Monica! By my calculations, in just 5 more days you will have a very nice buddy to travel around with! Your Mom and I had a great weekend in MN, more about that in my private blog. Love you, Grandma
18th September 2009

crazy
oh my goodness monica. you're like a globetrotter or something. ha. (i'll blame the lack of eloquence on how tired i am). i just wanted to let you know that i MISSSSSS you like everything. i hope you're enjoying your travels and i'll continue to keep you in my prayers, lady. muchos love, amanda

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb