Madame Kwan Beauty School Drop-Out European Tour-Day 1!


Advertisement
Europe
June 28th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

1 Carry-on!1 Carry-on!1 Carry-on!

They said it could not be done!
Hi all,

In Mayish of this year my friend Chaqa announced that he was moving back to Koln, Germany, to work as he did not acquire a work visa here. Although sad to see him go, we kept in touch via Facebook and email. Of course as I am want to do, I offered up that I would love to come visit prior to his departure to Singapore in July. He kindly said sure, come on over and the Madame Kwan Beauty School Drop-Out European Tour commenced!

Once I decided to go everything fell into place! Great price on tickets on both air and ground transportation. Accommodations were at his apartment in Koln or his friends in Amsterdam so it was turning out to be a very inexpensive trip! So I thought it to be a no brainier!

I was slated to leave on Saturday, 1 p.m. with only 1, I repeat on carry on, much to the dismay of some friends and co-workers. I had no issues with the flights, 2nd was an overnight from Atlanta to Dusseldorf, Germany. Dusseldorf is about 35/40 minutes from Koln (Cologne). My plane arrived about 7:30 a.m. on Sunday and there
The Drive from DusseldorfThe Drive from DusseldorfThe Drive from Dusseldorf

Chaqa on the Autobon!!!
was Chaqa to greet me! It was an easy transition although I was dead tired.

My first day in Koln consisted of a drive to Koln. A gloomy morning but it's Europe so who cares! Followed by a nap at Chaqa's apartment for about an hour...so not long enough! Then a brunch, with the most nice and eclectic people. The house was owned by an architect. It was modern, sparsely furnished and the kitchen was off the hook. The spread of food was amazing. Germany has the BEST BREAD.

Next we hit a street festival (of which every 2 feet Chaqa new someone) a Drag show and a drink at a bar, then BED! How do I love being horizontal!!!

They say a picture says a 1000 words, I will let my pix do the typing for me!!!

Sufficed to say - Day 1 was non-stop!

Thanx for reading and looking! More to come, this was just day one!

Travlin Terry


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Gloomy Morning Drive!Gloomy Morning Drive!
Gloomy Morning Drive!

The Autobon - or at least a portion of it!
The bridge!The bridge!
The bridge!

As Chaqa put it, this separates DC & Virginia LOL
The  DomeThe  Dome
The Dome

The Cathedral from the Bridge!
WindowsWindows
Windows

From the apartment we had brunch at!
The Brunch!The Brunch!
The Brunch!

Great House, nicest people, wish I had been more alert!
Chaqa & Francisco...Chaqa & Francisco...
Chaqa & Francisco...

Being Silly -
More brunch!More brunch!
More brunch!

Chaqa & Clause!
People pixPeople pix
People pix

Ralph, Chaqa & Francisco!
Street Festival!Street Festival!
Street Festival!

AKA - Welcome to Koln, Terry!
Drag show - Drag show -
Drag show -

Me & the Gurls!!!
4 way!4 way!
4 way!

Jealous I know!!! Don't hate!


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb