London


Advertisement
Europe
July 11th 2009
Published: July 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

hello everybody
Im so thrilled that so many people are reading my blogs. Sorry I havent uupdated in such a long time but in places like LOndon and Paris as some of you may know there is so much to see and do you just have to life the moment.I will know try and catch up. I will do it in peices so its easier to read and more exciting.

LONDON
Day1
first impressions heathrow Airport really big but just looked like a whole lot of little airports. We took the underground from there to St Pancras station where our youth hostel was only 200 metres away and also readv that Micheal Jackson was dead what a shook really upset what a loss. The trip only costed 4€. Hostel was really good and modern and belive or not wew were staying with some really nice New Zaeland lads from Wanaka. We found that the Magna CArta was only across the road in the National Liabary IT had its own room and it was cool to think that I was sitting in little Timaru Learning about and then I was actually there stading looking at it in LOndon! that day we went to LIllywhites ( a massive 5 storey sportshop) and bought some mean as white and gold F30s, mint as. WE also went to HAmleys which was a bit of a let down Just a whole of palstic toys that you could get from the wharehouse, and lots of it. We went tp the free Masons hall where Spooks is set and got a picture for Niko ( a big lover.) That night we went to to Billy Elliott the musical in the victoria palace theatre. A truly amazaing show defently top of the pops the actors were all amazing and so was the setting the dancing was amazing too. I walked away from it absoloutley buzzing and singing all the way homeall thanks to Jo my Auntie who if it hadnt been for her I wouldnt of had the amazing epereince.

Day2
went to Buckingham Palace at 11 and went to see the changing of the guards. REally hot weather anounced a big heat wave over london.It was very grand and proffessional read it and seen it in books and now I was actually there dream come true. we had lunch at Harods which was really busy we were there at the time when they had their only sale. REally gurmet food and a really bis shop we also heard a singing Pizza chef while working which was cool. We walked out onto the street where all the poncy people parked there cars. We then went to the Globe Theatre which was really old and wooden and lots of pillars I persuaded the doorman and I was allowed to have a sneak peak really cool. we went to Tower Bridge and walked across it I was amazed at how big it was and we stood in the middle where it folded out. Again I had seen it in postcards and now I was standing on it. walked past Tower of London looked pretty spooky. Took the Underground to Westminster Abbey and Big Ben was staring me in the face again I had seen it in postcards and now I was starring at it mouth wide open.Took a picture of the London eye and then went back to the youth Hostel.

Day 3
Went to the London Dungeon which was really spooky. Lots of stuff on the Plague I knew all of it thanks to the great teaching of Mr Brown. Most scarest thing Jack the Ripper they made everthing come to life. we then went Chelsea were we visited the Chelsea Football stadium a truely beautiful stucture (Chelsea fan) We wnet on a tour an went to the press room and sat in the seat where all the famous players were interviewed interviewed. went to booth changing rooms and Chelsea one was signifacantly more upmaret then the away team. We ran through the tunnel and ran in front of the pitch but werent allowed on it. Bought some Murchandise and then took the underground to St pauls Cathedral. We happened to be at the Cathederal when a service was on so we were allowed to sit at the back and listen. The gospel happened to be one that we had been learnig at school a few weeks before I left, Mathew 26:34,74-75 about the Cock crowing three times. THe organ was really big and loud and the whole place felt very sacred and special. The prest sounded alot like Mr Hamilton and my granfather. We walked out and took some photos and then the preist walked out aswell I smiled at him and he came over and talked to Dad and I. He was so nice and we talked for about ten minuets and he was really interesting and interested in our lives. I LOVE LONDON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



11th July 2009

wonderful london writing
darling Luke, great to hear all about London in such great depth. it must have taken you ages to do all that writing but I know how interested people will be and I think that it will be a great record of your journey, if you can possibley keep it up it would be wonderful. sebi here, sounds like you had a great time at chlesea, nice to hear you bought some merchandice haha! I also like the story of jack the ripper. there is a good conspiracy theory on him! I cant wait to hear your next blog about PARIS, the city of love... where you will tell romatic tale of how you serenaded beautiful french women! we liked hearing about your conversation with the vicar at st pauls, maybe your special technique of smiling at the vicar might just work on the french ladies! maybe?!! keep it up
12th July 2009

Mummys message
Hi Lukie Hamish Marr from your Rep soccer team rang today to say hi and to ask after you He wants to read this blog too1 Seb and I will go to Ashburton on Wed and watch the Japan cup and support your team as well as watch Tom playing for the canterbury team On sat SC played Mid cant in a friendly practise game but lost4-0!!!!!Pussy is stillalways hungrey and sleeps on your bed sometimes He really seemed to listen to you the other day when you spoke on the phoneI hope you are not too tired darling .You must be honest and tell Horst not to keep on going if you do get tired he will understand Verena said not to do more than 40 kms a day you must be so fit .I luv you Mum
13th July 2009

London
Hi Luke. I've loved reading about your impressions of 'my' capital city and am really thrilled that you love it! Of course you are probably only seeing the beautiful and impressive parts, which is as it should be! No need to see the rows of dingy terraces and tenement blocks! I could FEEL the Saint Paul's organ vibrate inside me when you described it and felt quite envious. Those are the sorts of things I miss! I don't suppose you'll be missing the hard, crisp, white frosts, glistening mountains and brisk sunny days - but I expect you would if you couldn't see them for a long time! Keep having a fabulous time on your trip and please give my love to your Dad! Love, Charlotte
20th July 2009

Awesome Job!
Hey Luke, I played tennis with your mum today and she said she was really proud of how well you were doing with the travel blog and how many people were pleased that you were writing! It sounds like an awesome trip!!! You must post some photos when you get a chance! I used to live in London. I sold Jelly Belly Jelly Beans at Harrods. Did you get to Harrods? How is your German coming along? Are most people letting you speak English or forcing you to try German? Sydney read your whole blog and said how impressed she was as well. Avery and Graham heard bits and pieces that we read to them. Have a wonderful time and we will check in again! Lisa Shivers
20th July 2009

Shivers
Hello MAn I cant believe you worked at HArods and sold Jellybeans I think that is really cool and we did get there. MY german is slowly coming along and people are urging me to speek German but if I dont understand then they just go to English.

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb