Week 3


Advertisement
Europe
September 19th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This week was busy with a midterm on Wednesday. I cannot believe I am halfway done with being in London already!

I went to the Courtauld Gallery, a huge private collection of impressionist paintings, and then to the Temple Church (Knight's Templar for Da Vinci Code fans) which was neat. Also went to this store called Primark which has clothes for really cheap, it was insanely packed with shoppers. Had 'high tea' at a hotel which was an experience, dabbling in different cakes, scones and teas which were quite delicious but then we all had a sugar crash and needed a nap.

Wednesday was my BIRTHDAY! 22! Thanks for all of the wishes from afar. I had a great day, except for a more-difficult-than-told midterm in the morning. A few of us went on a Beatles Tour and walked around with the 'Beatles Brain of Britain' to various sites (Apple Records, Mod Street, Abbey Road, where Yoko and John met). I risked my life to get the 'crossing' pic on Abbey Road as it is quite busy but I survived! Then Mo, Sean, Adam and I saw Avenue Q, a comedy-musical about crude muppets living on Avenue Q. It actually had a relevant message for us, starting off with 'I'm 22, what do I do with a BA in English?' Then we met a bunch of other people at the pubs in Picadilly Circus for a late night out.

Today, Adam, Sean and I went to Oxford on a beautiful day with clear skies and warm weather! The city was really nice, and filled with intellectual history. There were quite a few students on campus for orientation, which closed down some buildings, but we saw quite a bit nonetheless: Christ Church, and its 'Harry Potter Dining Hall', the lush lawns and rivers. We also saw the filming of a BBC Inspector Lynley/Morse episode (on PBS). We keep running into film crews around Europe!

Tomorrow we are going to one of our sociology assignment boroughs, and a rugby match. Then the White Cliffs of Dover on Sunday! Stay tuned, and I hope you are all doing splendidly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



28th September 2008

High Tea At 22
High Tea on your birthday? Really? If this is what life is like at 22, what will you do when you are 58 year-old divorcee?

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb