Dresden


Advertisement
Europe
October 24th 2005
Published: October 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This is my second stay in Dresden. Two days before heading to Prague, and two days afterwards. I rented a bicycle my first day and went into the countryside, where there a lots of farms and biergartens. I was hoping to do some more biking, but it has been rainy. I did have the chance to go take pictures around the old part of town along the Elbe river. Dresden is celebrating 800 years in 2006, which is young by European standards. Which is strange to me: Quebec City is celebrating 400 years next year I think, and it one the America´s oldest cities. The nightlife here is pretty active, but the entire city shuts down on Sundays.

Anyway, some pictures are to be found at
http://ca.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/mjgrant21/album?.dir=6020&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//ca.photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

and my next stop is Regensburg, home of the Thurn and Taxis, which was the first modern postal service and an important plot element in The Crying of Lot 49.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb