The space between plates


Advertisement
Europe
October 20th 2019
Published: October 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

The next day I drove back towards Reykjavik, which was about a 6 hour drive. I took my time coming back along the ring road to take in all the scenery though. I stopped outside Vatnajokul a few times to see some lava fields. The lava fields were cool, but nothing particulary stunning. I slowly made my way towards the Reynisfjara beach. This beach is famous for it's size and the black sand along it's shores. You can organize all kinds of tours to here from Reykjavik, making it very popular for tourists. There are couple of cool few little caves and rock formations on the west side of the beach, which is the more popular side because it's near the parking lot and restaurant.



Afterwords, I made it to the famous Blue Lagoon Spa. This place is about 45min from Reykjavik and is so popular, you need to book a time slot ahead of when you go. I'd suggest to do it a day in advance to get the time you want. The entry fee is pretty high ( I think it was 80 euro), but the spa itself is very clean, bright, and efficient. It's a very commercialized thermal hot springs, with some very cool views. They do also have some mud masks you can wear for free, but I didn't indulge. At points the water depth is about 5 ft, so it's real easy to get a full soak. There is also a cafterteria, as well as a full bar, but I didn't go to either. As with most hot springs, there are warm spots and cooler spots, so you can easily move when it gets too hot for you.



Afterwords, I wearily made it back to Reykjavik and collapsed in the bed of my hostel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb