Cliffs of Moher


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
September 29th 2019
Published: September 29th 2019
Edit Blog Post

On my second day, I got in the car and drove to the cliffs of moher. I took the route along the coast that involves a lot of country roads. These roads are very narrow, and the locals drive very fast on them. Most of the small towns looked very similar, with a just a main street that I drove through. When you get to the cliffs there are a couple of different options on how to see them. There is a long hike that goes from Doolin all the way south to a farm. You can park at either of these ends, and hike the whole thing. There are buses that can take you back if you don't want to do it one way. Or, you can go to main spot, on the southern part of the trail, that has all the tourists, and buses, etc.



I parked at the farm parking lot (cheaper than the main parking lot for the visitors center) and walked north past the tourist section a little, and then back. The central section with the tourists is very populated. The cliffs are a very popular place to go in Ireland and they have daily tours from multiple cities. I would recommend hiking either north or south from this area to really experience the cliffs. The cliffs themselves are very pretty, with green moss contrasting with the bright blue splashing water amongst them. The trail itself is also very hikeable, no scrambling, and impossible to lose.



After the cliffs I went to Limerick. Limerick is a little bit more of a working persons city, and didn't have a big tourist feel to it. It's a big shipping area since it's sits on the river shannon and the city has this feel to it. I quietly ate some dinner and spent the night in a 'hotel'. the room didn't have access to plug outlets, a tv with a glued power button so I couldn't turn it on, and no breakfast. I kinda made my way out of Limerick as fast as I could.


Additional photos below
Photos: 155, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb