Why I'd Always Recommend Working Abroad


Advertisement
Europe
June 4th 2018
Published: July 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Almost every university graduate has had years of learning a foreign language but barely anyone ever gets to use it in their careers. Even though universities are always pushing students to pursue educational paths that either help them study abroad or equip them to work abroad, very few people actually end up working abroad. From working as a personal assistant to getting a job in a cafe, all experience is a good experience. For me, working abroad has been a great blessing. Here are some of the most significant reasons as to why I'd always recommend working abroad.



A Whole New Experience

In a whole new world where day to day traditions, business customs, and in fact, almost everything is different, any functioning human mind learns to function in a different manner as well. This type of personal growth is a must for anyone to endure a stint in a foreign land and personally, it made me a stronger and more open-minded person. It allowed me to become more adaptable to tough situations as well.

Likeminded Friends

When you are working in a foreign land with people who are into the same profession and skill set that you have – it is highly likely that a strong bond of friendship will be ignited in no time. Not only was I lucky enough to meet and befriend some excellent people in my journey who taught me a lot about life, I also became like them in many ways. The thing is that in a foreign country, being alone can be a tough thing to overcome. However, there are always people who have much more experience in working in foreign lands who out of nowhere come to help and become an integral part of your life. This journey of making new friends and exploring the good side of humans who are like-minded is an important one to make.

An Important Boost for Your Career

As the international industrial community gets more close-knitted, corporations are looking to hire applicants with diverse global experience as they attempt to get into other country’s markets. Having practical involvement in a foreign nation could get a candidate a high paying leadership role. The unexploited markets and openings around the world are aplenty. The invaluable experience of one person working in a foreign land could be crucial in bringing two worlds together!

Learning a new Culture

Not many people are blessed to have a home away from home. Thankfully, I have been lucky enough to work in places like Stockholm, Singapore and Bangkok. In all of these places, I feel a sense of belonging. Not only do I have loads of friends in these places, from my time spent in those places, I have also found myself acclimatized to the local customs, languages and traditions. The feeling is amazing – I almost feel like a friendly conqueror that has left his stamp on these places.



Working abroad was difficult for me but if I could go back in time and make it easier, I certainly wouldn’t. It was these rough yet illuminating journeys which made me a better professional and a better person.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb