GRANADA


Advertisement
Europe
March 9th 2018
Published: March 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Well , the Alhambra is as magnificent as I imagined it would be . Unfortunately it was a rainy day while we visited but it did not hold us back in the least . Matter of fact it turns out we did 16000 steps that day . Both of us used our umbrellas and I also had a plastic raincoat from the dollar store which was invaluable . The NAZERIN Palace was unbelieveable . Initially , at the front entrance we thought hoohum...We saw this in Morocco but we quickly realized how wrong we were . Thlis place was unbelievable! Tile work , carved plaster, painted wood , fountains , pools...you name it it was there . I must find out how many people lived in that space . It could have held hundreds it was that large.

BUT ... It made me feel a bit homesick ... It certainly didn,t strike me as a place that was comfortable as we know comfort. . Life must have been very formal with rigid rules of conduct in that time . Not how I prefer to live.

Alhambra aside today was a lovely sunny day and we took ad vantage of the hop on hop off bus that travels about the city . A good decision as we were able to explore the grounds of Alhambra , St Nnicholas plaza , St Isabelle's monastery , St Jerome garden as well as stopping for lunch at Nuevo Plaza supplement by excellent Sangria.

A good day finished off with Brenda,s friends on a terrace on the 4th floor of our hotel where we saw a rainbow first ovver the Alhamra then over the foothills...it waz right on the ground . I have never seen anything like that before. It definately called for another glass of wine before we headed out to tapas bar for our evening meal .

Tomorrow I move on to Sevilla and Brenda will go to Valencia. My curiosity is in full swing .

Enough for now . Do drop me a note in the next few days.

Advertisement



10th March 2018

SOUNDS GOOD
SO HAPPY FOR YOU. IT SOUNDS LIKE THIS HAS BEEN AN EXCEPTIONAL EXPERIENCE. ENJOY
10th March 2018

How fortunate
So pleased that your visit to the Alhambra was a delight, despite the rain. I have had it on my list for ages. Rainbows are special, even more so in the company of friends and good drinks.
12th March 2018

Beautiful
It sounds so amazing Pam! You sure know how to pack a lot into your schedule. Too bad about the rain but at least it’s not scorching hot. Enjoy the next leg of your trip. I enjoy reading your updates.

Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb