Art, Architecture, and Exploration: These Are a Few of My Favorite Things


Advertisement
Europe
January 9th 2018
Published: January 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

When I hear Italy, I think of art, architecture, and history. Which happen to be what I have been learning so much about recently. The past two days, we have toured the beautiful city of Florence and the Uffizi Gallery. Throughout this time, I have learned more than I thought possible about the art and history of Florence. Around the end of our tour of the city, Antonio was talking about the word reflection and its dual-meaning: the external meaning (the reflection using a mirror), and the internal meaning (the reflection of the mind). After hearing this, I began thinking more analytically in regards to the meaning behind the art the city has displayed. I also kept this in mind as we toured the Uffizi Gallery, and tried to apply it to all the art we got to see.



Reflecting on our tour around Florence, I understood what Antonio meant by the external reflection. He explained how the people wanted to show their wealth and power by building immaculate houses and churches, and by displaying sculptures of powerful people around the city. He also explained that none of this was by coincidence. One example comes to mind: The Medici Family House. Antonio told us the story of this family: how they gained power and wealth when Cosimo became involved in banking. As his success and wealth grew, Cosimo hired Filippo Brunelleschi to build his family home. When Brunelleschi showed him the plans for the house, he rejected, saying the house would be much too beautiful. When the house was finished, it was large and resembled a fort: Cosimo did this to show the power he acquired, as well as the protection of his family. Similarly, in the Piazza della Signoria, there is a second (copied) statue of David (based on the hero from the story in the Bible). This statue was not chosen by coincidence, but to represent the strength of the Florentines. These displays by the Medici family and the city of Florence explain the external reflection perfectly: people see what they want you to see: if you show power, people will fear you; if you flaunt your wealth, people will know you.



During our tour of the Uffizi, we saw many incredible pieces of art such as sculptures and paintings from brilliant artists such as Botticelli, Michelangelo, Da Vinci, and many more. Mrs. Elizabeth Butler showed us around the building and taught us about its history (how the ceilings were painted with pictures that would provoke conversations and questions during dinners), materials artists used to create paint (mixing an egg with crushed flowers, stones imported from Afghanistan, as well as other crushed materials), and the meaning behind the paintings. As Mrs. Butler was telling us about the paintings, I thought again of the words Antonio spoke about the reflections of the mind. I tried thinking deeper about the paintings: why they were done, how they were done, and who completed them; and I finally understood what it meant to use art as expression. My favorite piece was Sandro Botticelli’s “Birth of Venus”. The colors and the people in the picture were painted beautifully, using a combination of light and dark colors that draw your eyes into the painting; making you feel as if you are watching the God of Wind blow Venus on her half-shell into the shore. Touring the city and the Uffizi Gallery has helped me appreciate art more by learning about the meanings behind the pieces, as well as the work that was put into their completion.



I came from a very artistic family, however, the artistic gene skipped me. Despite this, I have always enjoyed learning about art and its history (the styles, development of new techniques, etc.). I believe I may have difficulty finding the right words to express the beauty seen when talking to my family and friends. But, as I was talking to my roommate about it this evening, I explained how touring the city and the Uffizi Gallery has given me a much deeper appreciation for the art of the renaissance time period. I explained that I loved learning about the renaissance period in school, but it wasn’t until I saw the work in person, that I was able to make the connections between the history and meaning behind it. I have a better understanding of the work it takes to complete a masterpieces, and I have developed such a deep respect for the artists who created them.



Being in Florence has given me the wonderful opportunity to learn more about some of the things I have always loved: art, architecture, and history. Florence is a city full of excitement, beauty, and exploration around every corner. When I walk in the Piazza della Signoria, or when I pass the Uffizi Gallery, I am overwhelmed with strong emotions for the beauty I see and the love I feel for the place I get to call home for the next few weeks.



Steps:

January 8th, 2018: 16,735

January 9th, 2018: 13,877.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb