Rome (day 4) / Florence


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
May 28th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The last day in Rome was very uneventful. I walked around and saw the remaining sites like the Vatican Mueseums, Sistine Chapel, and a few randoms around the city. I basically relaxed at various points, listened to some music, and waited to meet Dan and Julie at 2:30 on the North Side of the Coloseum. We spent the day touring the city and we went in the colosseum. I officially started an obsession with gelati (italian ice cream), and then went out to dinner and had a nice chill night. My hostel for my last night was a great location, but no one, including the check-in people could speak english. I somehow managed to get in, and check out with no problems, but it was not easy. I could easily do Spanish, and even some French... but Italian is too foriegn for me.

I did get to see the Sistine Chapel, and the Vatican Museums after a LONG wait. And I did get to stand and watch some of the Pope's mass. I was one of like a hundred thousand, but it was still amazing. I got blessed by him, and I got some gifts that I bought blessed. SO
Florence OverviewFlorence OverviewFlorence Overview

A view from my campsite in Tuscany, overlooking the city.
for those of you who receive those gifts, you should feel special.

I left Rome and got into Florence pretty early in the morning after a nice train ride with 3 girls from the US. This was my second day travelling alone as Heather is off in London for a few days. After leaving Rome and getting into Florence, I met up with my Canadian friend Kassandra that I met in Barcelona. Our trips followed the same path, so rather than travel alone, I figured I would meet with her. We met at the train station in Florence, and started off for my hostel. We got on the wrong bus (the number 23), one that I'll never forget, and rode around the city for like an hour. After arriving back at the same place, we finally found the bus we needed and made it to my hostel, or should I say campground after 3 hours. It was the same company that I used in Rome, so I assumed I have a small cabin like I did there. I was wrong. These were real tents, with two cots about 5 inches apart. Luckily I never got a roommate so it wasn't bad at all. In fact, I had one of the best sleeps I've had since I have been here, because I was in the mountains and it was so cold.

We saw all the sites in Florence (it didnt take long). The Duomo (the 4th biggest church in the world), Night and Day (famous doors), and the statue of David. Florence was compact, and a great place to relax, but for pure entertainment value, not so much. We had a great waffle and gelato combo in the middle of the day, then walked around the rest of the city. I picked up some postcards, then we headed off to dinner. This is the ONE thing I'll miss most about Italy, and that is the food. We got a first course each, and split some pear flavored pasta, and it was great. I've been trying so much food that I would NEVER try in the states. After a long day, we split up early so we could get up for our 7 am train, and planned to meet at 7 back at the train station.

Italy hasn't been all I expected, but the food and especially the girls, have been more than I could have imagined. Its off to Venice tomorrow...

Advertisement



29th May 2006

Gelati
Rita's has a decent Gelatii here.
30th May 2006

The italian girls are hotttt from what i remember. granted i was there like over 5 years ago, but i do remember they were definetly better looking than the french women!
30th May 2006

yeah the one who woudn't eat anything growing up have fun!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb