Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 30th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Venice was amazing. I think it may have been my favorite part of all of Italy. We took a trip on the canals, the water taxi through the city, and a gondula ride. We also looked through the 10000000 glass shops because Venice glass is known worldwide. It is a city that words cannot describe and was much more exciting than Rome or Florence. I also had a run in with the law in the morning before getting my train to Venice.

When I was on my bus down the hill from my campsite, which was real tents this time, I forgot to validate my ticket on the bus. All of a sudden like 5 people stormed the bus and started checking tickets, and I handed mine over, but it wasnt validated. It was a 25 euro fine, and i was one of 9 people (out of like 20) that had to pay it. I was not happy, but I was out of Florence, so that was nice.

My hotel in Venice was amazingly nice, and I had it all to myself. I met my Canadian friend Kassandra in Florence, and we headed to Venice. We hung out for
More Canals of VeniceMore Canals of VeniceMore Canals of Venice

A view of the Main Harbor.
the day, had Gelato twice, as usual, and then headed to a nice dinner. I got the hotel shuttle back at like 1 am, then got up early for a train to Bern, Switzerland. I am writing this from Milan, Italy (its 3:15) and I leave for Bern at 5. I will try to update the stuff in between when I get to a place and am stationary for more than an hour. I have 4 more days of hostels, then its hotels. Today was also the first time the weather wasn't perfect in weeks. Venice was chilly and cloudy, and this morning it rained, but now in Milan it is sunny and hot once again. We are trying to book whitewater rafting as we speak, and I am really excited... so I hope it works out.

That is if I can ever meet up with Heather again, who is in London still. I hope it is cold and rainy there. She is scheduled to meet me tonight in Bern, but we shall see.

Hope everyone is doing well, and sorry to anyone I havent emailed, I have been in like 5 cities in 4 days, and I just havent had time. Hope everyone is well.

Advertisement



31st May 2006

Ryan Sounds like you are having the time of your life. we enjoy reading everyday your adventures, miss you hope to see you soon.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb