From living the dream to back to reality in one fell swoop!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
February 17th 2017
Published: March 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It was an early start. Mr Lannon left first on his longtail to Trang from the Koh Mook Pier close to where we'd stayed. We'd joked about who would have the worst transport. ? I waved him off, and took in the views of this side of the island. Typical, my speed boat ride (this is how this princess was rolling from now on) to Koh Lipe, the southern most Thai Island, was leaving from the other side. ? A taxi picked me up around mid morning and returned me to Charlie Beach, my well loved spot. It was so hot, it was impossible to stay cool. This not helped by the fact we appeared to be on 'Island Time' again! ? An hour late, finally, we boarded. Complete carnage as usual, luggage piled anywhere and everywhere, I managed to get a seat in the outside section at the front in the sun and could now top up my tan. It was a long, three and half hour journey. The sea very rough in parts, the boat slamming against the water like hitting concrete. I held on for dear life and tried to contain my stomach content. This is not what I'd envisaged. Thank goodness the scenery was nice when it slowed down and dropped others off at neighbouring Islands. All of which, including Koh Lipe formed part of the Tarutao National Marine Park. As we approached Koh Lipe it looked spectacular with its mesmerishing bluey green coral rich waters and white sand. A tropical paradise. Unfortunately the same could not be said for me. Rocking an electrocuted look with my windswept hair covered in salt spray and feeling totally exhausted, I was at least ecstatic to be back on terra firma. National Park Fees paid, I grabbed a ride to my accommodation for that night. Oh this was more like it. Superking bed, ensuite with power shower and poolside room. Ahhhhh some luxury at last, with not a tent or shack insight. ?? All ready to enjoy my new surroundings and relax, it was just a pity, there was no room at this inn, the following evening for me. Sorting out my onward accommodation needs, took priority. I'd decided to stay put for at least four nights here in total given all the moving about from place to place myself and Martin had undertaken. There was plenty for me to see and do and would give me breathing space to work out what next. I freshened up and strolled around this small yet quite touristy island. An absolutely stunning location but a little over crowded for my liking. I was sure though that I'd find a peaceful corner somewhere to relax in. Lipe Village ticked all the boxes for what I needed for my accommodation needs going forward and they had room. That sorted, it was time to chill out and grabbed some food. Feeling healthy, I opted for a large pot of tea to accompany a fruity quinoa salad with avocado. It was really good. Packed full of fresh ingredients and a fab vinagarette, it was just what I needed. As the evening turned into night, I sat poolside enjoying a cocktail, catching up with emails and messages from home and friends around the globe. It had started to play on my mind, what would come next, for me? I had loved my trip, was loving my trip but there was just, that little niggling sensation that maybe it was time for something else. I'd started to think about what I'd do, when I returned home. In all honesty, it fightened the shit out of me. I was a woman who loved a plan....not knowing didn't really work. I found it daunting, not liberating and really quite stressful. I'd intended to start researching and looking into options after India, but having a travel companion, it was easy to put this off. Now though, I had no excuse and as, if by magic, there it was. The sign I needed, sat in my Inbox. An email from a friend and ex colleague detailing a certain opportunity not dissimilar to the role I had performed previously, before taking off round the glode. Only this time it would be on a different Site. I was hooked and intrigued and completely dumbfounded by its timing. This was too good an opportunity to dismiss so I opened up the lines of communication. My mind was a buzz that night with all sorts of thoughts of what this might mean or provide for me. So the following day, I got up with a spring in my step, enjoyed Pad Thai for breakfast, checked out, then checked in to my new accommodation and cracked on with exploring this wondrous place. Walking I always found relaxing and cleared my mind. The island had three distinct beach areas and my goal today, was to explore all three. I was staying close to 'Walking Street' a pedestrianised area leading to Pattaya Beach in the centre. Knowing that would be full of tourists, I followed a short track through a forested area upto a viewing point that gave a beautiful view of the Andamen Sea. It was beautiful and not a soul in sight. Continuing on, it dropped down to the southern tip of Pattaya Beach. This crescent shaped beach was where I had arrived the previous day. Simply gorgeous, fine white sand, crystal clear water, a piercing blue sky above with streams of fine white cloud and rows of traditional longtails completed this breathtaking location. I walked its entire length taking it all in. Hotel resorts with their restaurants and bars and the entrance to Walking Street butted up to the beach. All in a prime location with a view to die for. I continued inland, across a small section of the island heading north east until I reached the other coastline looking for Sunset Beach. I stumbled upon a tiny cove along the way, which I took refuge at, enjoying the sheer tranquility and the view. It was well hidden and this tiny tropical paradise was all mine. As I stared out at the amazing coloured water lapping ever so quietly, my mind wandered back to the email I'd received. Here I was, in my own tropical paradise thinking about spreadsheets. I worried about me, sometimes! Seriously, how sad was I??? Before becoming completely transfixed and lost in my own world, I meandered further up the coast, finally reaching Sunset Beach. A more rocky coastline with a rugged beauty. The sand more shale beneath my feet meant a good work out for my poor legs. There were certainly fewer people this side but the scenery, was just as stunning. It was hot now, approaching early afternoon. I felt Iike an ice cream melting in the sun and needed to cool down. Rock located at the end of this stretch, I parked up, my feet straight in the water. It felt amazing. I sat a while and took it all in, watching many crabs scurry along the rocks trying to find the perfect place to sunbathe, stay cool and keep out of danger. Getting slightly too comfortable, thinking there'd be no moving me if I didn't shift soon, I continued inland once again heading south west to Sunrise beach. This part was spectacular and appeared more crowded. It really was paradise. The sand, so fine it felt like talcum powder under your feet. The sea so bright from its clarity and its white sandy bottom, was gorgeous. This area, rammed full of top class resorts, restaurants and bars, all making a killing off their location. Many with private sections of beach. It posessed a cool hip vibe, not in the sense it was full of hippies and was grungy but in the affluent sense with an air of richness. The natural surroundings providing the epitomy of tropical luxuriousness. Koh Lipe was a fascinating destination and although you could clearly see the tourist industry taking over, there remained sections hidden and unspoilt. Today, certainly confirmed, it had been worth the hardship of the speed boat transfer to get me here. Feeling a little peckish, and practically back to the start, I strolled through Walking Street. Catering for the masses, edged with bars, shops and restaurants covering every inch of space, I found offered up, either a gluten fest or Thai food, neither of which I wanted. I took off down one of the side streets desperately looking for somewhere I thought might cater for me. This is when I spotted this small unassuming restaurant with a cool arty menu that included dietary information at the top of each page. Wow, so the word 'Gluten' had made it this far. ? In I went to satisfy my little hunger pang. Sat down I took a good look at the menu this time, only to discover they knew what gluten was and yes, it was in most items. Oh well, I'd just have to plump for the Cherry Pannacotta that appeared to be my only option. If needs must, I thought. ? Delicious, creamy, fruity and decadant, it had been a naughty but very nice treat. Back at base, I had recieved a little more correspondence about the opportunity back in blighty. They were eager to chat as soon as possible. So it appeared I had some serious decisions to make but I couldn't do any of that, on an empty stomach. I showered, hair tamed, face on and went out to enjoy a slap up dinner. I was after all, like the advert says, 'worth it!'. ? I migrated towards Pattaya beach and after alot of research and energy, I found a fantastic little place on the front with full views of this beautiful bay. Table scored on the sand looking out towards the water as the sunset in the distance, created the perfect romantic setting for me and my wine.?? Boy, were we in love. The menu was good providing some excellent choices. Beef Consomme to start with its exquisite layering of flavours was simply delectable. Salmon with wilted spinach in a butter sauce melted on the tongue. At last some high end food, in a posh place for this classy bird. ? During my meal, I kept a watching brief on the night sky as the dark clouds rolled in and the atmosphere intensified. Enjoying my wine, ordering more for dessert, I started to feel the tiny pit patter of rain. Heading quickly to the viewing deck, I narrowly missed a soaking as the heavens opened. Rain fell quietly on sand, with the only clue it was hammering down was the pattern it made on its surface. Each drop creating a small well. As I looked skywards, towards the light of the restaurant, you could see how ferociously it was coming down. I loved a good downpour and it was needed to clear the air after the intense heat of the day. With no sign of it stopping, I indulged in another glass of vino, my mind a spin with what to do about this opportunity. The rain eventually passed and I strolled back treating myself to some coconut cakes similar to the ones I'd scored in Laos from a small vendor. Little mouthfuls of sweet creamy coconut heaven signified the finale to a wonderful evening. A good nights sleep aided by the previous nights wine ?, I woke refreshed. Over breakfast, I re-read all the communication and decided, if I seriously wanted to be considered, I needed to return. I felt, excited, apprehensive, positive, doubtful. I was awash with emotions but I knew deep down, I was ready. So with lots of planning required to now to get me off this Thai Island and back to Amersham as soon as possible, I spent the day at my poolside office making it happen. Finally after many an hour searching flights and ferry times, my transport was booked and the wheels set in motion with an Interview time set at 3pm on Wednesday 22nd February. This meant I'd had one full day left and needed to make the most of it. All this work had built up an appetite, I was just praying I would find somewhere nice without it having to take an age. Here we go again, I thought to myself, not wanting to look at or even face Thai cuisine. I knew my options were limited but for some reason I migrated down the quiet side street, that I'd wandered the day before when I'd scored my afternoon treat of Cherry Pannacotta. Next to that small venue was Luna Italian. Feeling bloody minded, knowing that normally these are a gluten fest, I took a snifter at the menu. Spotting the Italian owner, I walked over and asked about whether the Gnocchi contained flour? There it was, immediately the breath of fresh air I'd craved for months. "You have an issue with Gluten?" he responded. "I only have GF Spaghetti". I was on cloud nine. Seat taken, order placed along with a glass of vino which he checked, if I'd like immediately or with my food? I savoured every second of this incredible service hoping the food would be of the same standard. It did not dissapoint. The creamy decandent richness of my smoked salmon spaghetti seduced me with every mouthful. The accompanying white wine taking the dish to the next level. Chilled out music played in the background as this hidden gem filled up. The aroma of garlic filled the air as those around me tucked into hot buttery garlic bread and who could blame them? I felt in that second, I was in Italy. For as wonderful, breathtaking and awe inspiring my travels across the globe had been, my heart resided in Europe. It had taken me a while to realise, but feeling the joy during this meal that I was somewhere else entirely, told me everything I needed to know. I was ready to return. Stuffed and on a food high, I made my way back to base to dream about european food and my impending return. My last day, I was raring to go. I had booked a trip to see more of this incredible Archepeligo in which Koh Lipe was a part. It was back on a longtail boat, inclusive of fume and noise to speed across the bay (which luckily was calm today) to reach our first destination. It wasn't exactly quick but the scenery breathtaking with golden bays edging the Islands. The bright blue shallow water turning more turquoise as the depths increased until it reached a dark navy which is where we spent most of it until we reached a rather odd rock formation known as Koh Hin Sorn. Two rectangular boulders stacked precariously with the bottom one housing a split was a construction conundrum with how it held its composure. Just on from that was our first snorkelling stop of the day. It was incredible the varying shapes, size and colour of the inhabitants of this reef section. I was surrounded and it was illuminating. The following spot, completely different again with this being the home of 'Nemo'. Clown fish aplenty played in the wavy long reef. Large solid brown leafy structures left barely enough room for us to glide over bringing us face to face with this world. Simply magical. I was so glad our next stop to Ko Rokroy, a pleasant Island with great views included our lunch stop. Although, you'd have thought I would have learnt by now, to curb my excitement as my staple of boiled white rice and fried egg ended up being my meal. At least the destination and views hit the spot after my riské climb in flip flops. My safety brain trying to turn a blind eye. The rest of me in silent prayer, I didn't slip and break anything. ? I'm glad to report all ended well and even the next destination came up trumps for me. Known as Monkey Island because of the Macau inhabitants, I'm pleased to report that I didn't see any until we were moving away. The area, a lovely expanse of sand and the snorkelling over the reef there, out of this world. There were hundreds of fish all going about their business in every direction. Talk about being a small fish in a big pond. This a definite highlight of the day. Moving on, it was another lengthy boat ride to a very unusual Island called Ko Hin Ngam created from shiny black pebbles. It was strange seeing this admidst the golden bays but very cool never the less. It just went to show the diversity within this national park. Our last stop of the day a final snorkel over a reef that was at depth. Impressive but for me not in the league I had seen earlier in the day. I was completely done in on my return to Koh Lipe but overjoyed with how remarkable this day, signifying the end of my adventure had been. Tonight for dinner, I'd made the decision, better the devil you know, so headed straight back to the Italian I'd loved the evening before. Starving after a busy day, I ordered a Mozzarella and Tomato salad to start. Huge dish with fantastic ingredients, I only ate half given I had Spaghetti Bolognaise to follow. I'd gone all out tonight, ordering a Carafe of Red Wine from the off. It was a lovely drop of vino that complimented this delicious fayre. Stuffed and watered, I rolled home. Tomorrow the tortuous journey would start as I made my way to the UK. All packed up, I left my accommodation and headed to Pattaya Beach one last time. It was around 9:00am that I started to queue to go through immigration as my next stop would be Langkawi, a Malaysian Island. My onward flight not booked until that evening, I decided it was better to get the early ferry than take any chances. It was so hot, the waiting on the beach, just cruel surrounded by those happily sunbathing in next to nothing and swimming in the cooling water. Finally a longboat turned up and made a number of journeys ferrying all the passengers and our luggage out to the floating dock where the Ferry resided. Once on board, I settled in the air conditioned cabin. My seat on the end of a row allowed me freedom to disembark quickly and keep a beady eye on my luggage throughout. That being the last thing I needed, for that to go on an adventure. The two hour journey flew by and in a blink of an eye, I was outside the ferry terminal after another round of passport control and immigration checks, stood in the Taxi area on Langkawi. I jumped straight in one, after agreeing a price. This, after all was not my first rodeo and a valuable lesson learnt in Bucharest had kept me wise, since. The taxi journey took about 35 minutes to reach the small compact building that was the Airport. I'd arrived with hours to spare but at least I was there ready. Feeling quite peckish, I decided to grab food, to kill sometime. Thats if I could find any, I could eat. I was back in a part of Malaysia now and we all know how well that had been for me on my previous visit. So with alot of perserverance, I ordered from the Malaysian equivalent to Mcdonalds, a side of mash potato (smash in other words) a side of coleslaw and 2 slices of cheese with a cup of tea. This being the only food items suitable in the whole airport, I was completely spent with this type of hassle and shit food. My long wait for the gate to open soon passed, with me spending most of it engrossed in conversation with fond friends across the globe. It was a succinct and quick process, me collecting tickets for both flights given it was Malaysian Airlines that were bringing me back. Sat at the gate, waiting to board my flight to Kuala Lumpur, a delayed update apppeared on the screen. This could be no longer than an hour for me to still get on my connecting flight comfortably. Luckily all was well and we left around 8:30pm. On board, I tried to get some shut eye but failed. It was only a short flight and with them serving food in the middle (mine, finally a Gluten Free offering) there was no peace and quiet for sleep. I got to KL and hurriedly made my way through the transfer route to get to my gate. This airport was huge and full of fabulous Duty Free shops. Unfortunately there wasn't much time for that. I reached the gate, a little tired and emotional as I starred at the sign with my flight details on. The word 'London' glaring back at me. As I stepped through the doors to board, my mind flashed erratically through images of the last 21 months. It had been an adventure of a lifetime and a dream, I had lived. One that had provided not only friends for life but perspective, growth, an inner confidence and a new found appreciation for all that I hold dear. In fourteen hours, who knew what my future would hold but until then, it was time for some shut eye. As I stepped off the plane in Heathrow, reality definitely bit. The dark gloomy weather and the drop in temperature certainly confirmed this. In fairness, it was 5:30am when I touched down. Passport control done and baggage retrieved, I grabbed a Black Cab outside and made my way to Amersham Old Town. A thirty minute journey costing £100, was a tell, that I was back in Britain. I checked into my room and dropped my bags at the Pub. It was off to Tesco which was luckily in walking distance for me to shop for some suitable interview attire. Turning up in a sarong and swimsuit, I thought maybe wasn't the best way to go.? Top, trousers and shoes sorted, it was back to base for my breakfast before getting my head down for a few hours. There was one thing that was wonderful about being back....food! Rice Crispies had never tasted so good followed by bacon, egg, tomatoes and mushrooms. This certainly helped me drift off. At 2:30pm my taxi arrived to take me to the site where my interview would be at 3pm. It was only five minutes away and I knew having been there many times before, in what felt like a previous life, I'd arrive in plenty of time. I think at this point, adrenalin had kicked in. Not having had a fantastic sleep over the last 24 hours, I was amazed how focused and switched on I still was. After the emotional rollercoaster of getting on the flight to come back with me thinking the dream was over, I had now adopted the advice that my friend Tracy in New Zealand had dispensed. Look at this opportunity like a new dream is beginning and with that came a tinge of excitement. As I entered the reception area I bumped into an old colleague from Cardiff who gave me a lovely greeting and I remember thinking, I did the right thing whether this was going to work out or not. As I chatted through the potential opportunity with my old Grove Centre colleague, I bumped into more people I knew and it felt right to be back. They also appeared to be impressed that my trip had only ended earlier that day or in shock how bonkers, I was! ? After the interview my thoughts turned to seeing my family and the surprise I was about to unleash. Luckily for me, my old colleague Mark who had told me about this opportunity gave me a lift back to Cardiff where my mucker B was waiting to collect me. It was fab seeing her and true to form, it started with an insult about my tan. ? B, who had been part of my secret homecoming plan for sometime, was my man on the ground as it were to make this happen. The little star had also gone and sorted a GF food parcel for me to come back too. It was raining heavily when I finally turned up at my parents house and my home, before I left. It was hard to believe, I was here and knocking on their door. The look of shock on my dad's face was priceless. My mam squeezed the life out of me at which point, I had to prize myself away for a wee. ? Minutes later the red wine was open and my sister arrived with brother in law after a shock phone call made by me from my mams. My brother watching a film in the cinema with his fiance, I caught up with the following night having not listened to his messages! Typical! It was lovely if not strange to be back. More insults were slung about my lovely tan ? and we did a comparison how chalky white my mam and B's legs were compared with mine. Jealousy is a terrible thing ladies! ? Although it would soon fade having been back just 24 hours and already I was enjoying Storm Doris who was howling a gale. Luckily, I had nothing planned until that night when I surprised my biggest blog fan, Beryl (B's mam), at the weekly quiz held in the local golf club which was a great laugh. The following day, Friday 24th February, I caught up with my cousin Michelle while I waited to hear if the job was mine or not. Then the news came that I'd been waiting for that afternoon and I was elated if not a little shocked. It had taken seven days from reading the email, coming back, being interviewed and getting offered this contracting opportunity. Now the fun began with me agreeing to start on Monday 6th March. Really, why do I do this to myself??? That evening I sorted out my first months accommodation before the celebrations went wild with a GF Fish and Chip supper and copious amounts of Wine and Bubbles for me, B, mam and my sister. It was one of those great impromptu girlie nights and we were sozzled! ? Feeling slightly ropey the next day but now requiring some new work clothes, me and B battled against Storm Ewan this time, to see what we could find. I missed the sun and had to remind myself Spring was supposedly on its way, not Winter! ? As evening fell, I surprised some of my oldest friends, Sarah and Mat by setting up a Skype date but knocked their door instead. It was wonderful to see them and my God-daughter. My Godson now at university, I missed, but was so proud to hear about, all he'd achieved. Sunday already, and what better way to catch up with my mate, 'Anna' but over Sunday Lunch. The days were dissappearing in a blur, as the following week, involved many more social gatherings and surprise visits with those I'd missed. Slotted between all the good times and drinking sessions, I was getting myself organised with one main item left to sort, that being transport. Who better for me to call upon but my very own personal car advisor, Wyn. This being my long time friend who'd steered me well previously when I purchased my Volvo. Roped in, he was another great help. Luckily he came with patience and nerves of steel. It had been a while since I'd been behind the wheel of a car, and you could tell. Him patiently waiting while I tried to figure out how to release the electric handbrakes. Six test drives done, I knew which one was for me, but just to make sure, I slept on it. Sexy Red Merc purchased. Yes that's right people. Now an MD, I needed to look the part at least and it also had the easiest handbrake. ?? That was another thing ticked off my exhaustive list. My company was being set up in the background and things were coming together. I just needed a session with all my old work crew before buggering off again. Which is exactly what happened. It was brilliant, like I'd seen them the week before, not two years ago. The good times rolled for nearly twelve hours and I had a ball. My final weekend at home arrived and I spent that Saturday enjoying a culture trip with friends and family, watching 'The Wedding Singer' in Cardiff. This quite a poigniant day, given, B and I had discussed getting me a ticket six months previously when I was still in NZ. Not knowing then if I'd use it or not, but just incase I returned, it was incredible to think, that the following day I'd leave again, to start a contracting role in Amersham. Given that, we made the most of it, fantastic company, wonderful food, a few celebrity meet ups and selfies with Ray Quinn and Jon Robyns from the cast. Fine wine, bubbles and cocktails flowed all day ending in a maracas shake down in Revolution De Cuba. I loved every minute with a final pint in my local before crashing back at home on the settee, just like old times. ? It was now Sunday 5th March, the car was packed, I was fed and watered, goodbyes said, I was ready to start on my next chapter. I braced the crappy British weather and made my way to my AirBnB accommodation. At least this time, I was only in the country nextdoor and I planned to return every few weeks. I'd missed having conversations were I didn't require a translator. ?? My first week in work was a shock to the system. A true rollercoaster of emotions interspersed with periods of angst and numbness when realising that this wasn't a dream. I'd conciously decided to leave my Thai paradise and pick up where I'd left off. Who in their right mind would do such a thing I found myself asking??? ? It had taken 626 days of travel to decide I needed to do something else for a while and literally 5 days in work, to realise it wasn't this. ??? Maybe I was no longer cut out for work? ? Oh well, I was sure the shock would wear off at somepoint, but for now, I needed to relish the challenge, expand my expertise and keep my nose to the grindstone. I was Managing Director of A.C.Williams Project Solutions Limited, were S.P.E.E.D (Solutions to Problems with an Effective Efficient Delivery) was the essence. It would also pave the way for me to return to travelling. I had taken and learnt so much from my trip about myself as I had about the world. The confidence I gained in my own self believe would allow me to give this opportunity everything I have for it to succeed. I realised that it wouldn't be forever but was the gateway that would allow the next adventure and without this, I wouldn't appreciate the other. Back just over a month, my long term accommodation sorted, the routine of work, fully engrained almost as if I'd never been away and my social life back in full swing, its time for, 'Valley Girl on Tour' to sign off, until next time. Xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 40


Advertisement



6th April 2017

Wonderful two(almost) years of travel
Having followed your blog for almost 2 years, I am missing out on reading of your adventures. Please return soon to the travel blog, and good luck with the new position.
6th April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. Once settled, I think I will write a number of short weekend ones. I hadn't appreciated how many people outside of my family were reading it.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb