One week to go


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
March 1st 2017
Published: March 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Met up with Frank ,my fellow cyclist ,for coffee at Frosties. Discussed our lack of fitness levels due to weather. will next meet at Heathrow. Frank recalls first meeting me 35 yrs ago when I ran the diabetic clinic at MK hospital . Apparently I advised him to cash in his pension as his life style was such that I did not think he would get to 60 unless changed life style totally.

I was sitting below deck sailing off coast of Brazil on 3 masted square rigged ship looking after 25 disabled and 25 able body volunteers when this 65 yr old asked me if I had been diabetic doc at MK 30 yrs ago .It was Frank and we sailed up Brazil's coast, thru West Indies and via Bermuda to Nova Scotia. The following year we cycled from Le Puy in France to Santiago in western Spain traveling along the old pilgrims route, 1000 miles over 20 days .Last year Frank cycled across USA northern route but my 99 yr old father was ailing so I remained in Eversholt.

A further connection with Frank is that his daughter is a consultant on the neurosurgery ICU at Adenbrooks and almost certainly looked after my wife following her surgery for her cerebral hemorrhage 5 yrs ago. Small world.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.498s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb