To the tune of My Favourite Things


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
December 14th 2016
Published: December 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

New timing belts, brake discs and pads
MOT failure, fault on air bags
A major service and a drive shaft which sings
These are a few of my least favourite things

Broken caravan axle, order began
Delivery not arriving until mid Jan
Changed ferry bookings and delay trip to Spain
Yes, these are more things which cause me much pain

Not feeling well, perhaps laryngitis
Doctor says yes and pharyngitis
Missing lunches with friends and nights on the town
Yet more things in a week that are getting me down

OK so it won’t have the Poet Laureate quaking in her boots, but all in one week must prove that something exists and I’ve been bad!

Apart from the above Jane and I are both fine and just to make sure that your sympathy can be properly directed it was me with the gitises but now very much recovered.

Never known anyone have a broken caravan axle before, fortunately nothing more dramatic than the wheel catching the rim. The wheel was pushed out by the movement in the broken axle which also fractured the shock absorber so the whole caravan laying low on that side. The new axle has to be made to order and come from Germany, due to arrive week commencing 16th Jan, so have changed ferry until 29th Jan arriving at Spanish winter quarters (Aguilas) on 2nd Feb.

The purpose of this jotting is not just to rant, or even just wish you merry Christmas, but to set up and test my new blog “Confessions of an itinerant grumpy old git”, thanks Allan for the name suggestion, well at least part of it. I have added you all to the email notification list but that is easily removed, I/you hope!

I have also posted the last few emails along with pictures just to prove there are high level bars in El Rocio where you don’t have to get off your horse to have a drink, feel free to ignore these. Also I will find a way of selecting fewer photos!

So to avoid any comparisons to this being another book and until we start traveling again, I wish you and yours a great Christmas wherever you are and look forward to catching up in the New Year.

Terry and the long suffering editor, Jane.

Advertisement



14th December 2016

Welcome to the world of blogging!
Looking forward to following your antics and seeing you in real life in the New Year! X

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb