Don't as, don't get (part 2)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
July 6th 2014
Published: July 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Come to JapanCome to JapanCome to Japan

I found this on a FaceBook page as titled, this is something my boyfriend always tells me each night so it reminded me of us
Today my determination and luck was strong with my job hunt, it's been a year since I moved to England and it was depressing me how narrow my chance of getting a job was in my town so I decided this week after meeting my boyfriend I would travel further a field to London; Covent Garden and Charing Cross to be exact because it's not a difficult commute for me.

With enough courage summoned in my mind, I entered an array of different restaurants (because that’s the only line of work I have experience in) and repeated over and over, door to door like a Jehovah’s Witness handing my CV to a world of employers and managers from around the world. Some were more helpful than others, others just insisted I apply online and turned me away; but more times than not they’d say ‘my boss isn’t here at the moment, I’ll pass this on’, for all I know they are the boss and they’ll just tear it up.

I don’t mind that, as long as I know I’m making the effort; online recruiters are just as bad as face to face one’s so I prefer a more hands on approach to getting a job, even though peers my age would find this humiliating I like making good first impressions.

But with my luck, a bloke (who was English) was looking through CV’s at the time I entered his restaurant- I was on my last one and I thought I’d give it to him when he told me to sit down, he was impressed with my English when I told him ‘I AM English’, I can see why he was confused.

So now, tomorrow I have a trial after he decided we should interview immediately and I’m happy with the results.

Travelling and fees won’t bother me because at least I’m doing something useful over the holidays; I feel time is running out for me and my boyfriend if we want to meet again in Japan and I’m not going to afford to go to university in time for the next year; who knows how long we’ll last.



But at least I did ask, and now I got so all I can think is good thoughts. . . .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb