I've made it to England by the way.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
January 19th 2011
Published: January 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

GEDC2021GEDC2021GEDC2021

Us at the train in Heathrow Airport
'Ello there mates.
I made it to England a few days ago but I haven't really had time to blog. I've been so busy! School is intense and there are so many things to take in. There's programme information, studies, and not to mention places! We've had to try to remember our way around Charlbury and Oxford. I think I've got Charlbury down now though. And things are getting a bit less busy because most of the intro stuff is done now.
It was super awesome checking out the Bodleian! We went in the lower reading room of the Radcliffe Camera and it was super awesome! We got our Bod cards first of course, because not just anyone can go into the Bodleian. We had to swear an oath not to set the books on fire and everything! It's so wonderful. They basically have a copy of every book ever written. There's a bunch of different buildings and they store stuff in other places. It is so awesome. I want to live there.
Of course I live in the house the farthest away from the train station in Charlbury but it's okay. I don't mind the 20 minute walk with a bunch of hills twice a day. I actually don't mind it. Really. Haha. It's a nice walk. When we get off the train it's a decent walk to Regents and to the Church also. So I'm definitely getting my exercise. The train was cancelled yesterday which was dumb so we got drives from programme people and were a half hour late for class. Then today the early train was cancelled and our train was delayed twenty minutes. So we were late again. However, so was our prof! He got there like five minutes after us hehe.
We have lunch at Oxford (at Regents Park College more specifically). You get the main meal or the salad bar. If you get the main meal you sit and they serve you. It's great. And people here seem to put this awesome cream on desserts. Its just cream. It's so awesome. My host calls it 'naughty cream.' Because it's really bad for you. So now.. I just call it naughty cream. It's the best.
It's fun to be able to walk around Oxford on our own. Gosh, people are crazy on bicycles! They just ride them everywhere and zoom in and around stuff and
GEDC2029GEDC2029GEDC2029

Me somewhere near the Bodleian
people. Gotta watch our for them or they'll run ya down! Same with the cars. The cars are small and the roads and narrow and winding. They just zoom everywhere and zip in and around things. Madness.
Today we went to both of our classes and then went around Oxford a bit in the evening. We got sandwiches at Greens and popped into the Eagle & Child where the Inklings used to chill! (CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien). We then went to the bookstore because the editions we have of everything are all crap. However. They didn't have enough copies of things.
Then we struggled our way to the train station and rode the train the 17 min back to Charlbury.
Now I am sitting at my desk. I need to tidy it. And my room. It's a bit of a mess because I thought I was going to be late today (we had chapel early). As I was getting dressed in the clothes I laid out last night, one of the buttons on my shirt came off and I had to change my outfit. So I just through junk everywhere.
I should probably start on the mounds of reading I
GEDC2033GEDC2033GEDC2033

Evan somewhere near the Bodleian
have to do.
Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

GEDC2054GEDC2054
GEDC2054

Quad at Regents
GEDC2055GEDC2055
GEDC2055

Quad at Regents
GEDC2056GEDC2056
GEDC2056

Quad at Regents
GEDC2058GEDC2058
GEDC2058

Sheep by the train station in Charlbury!
GEDC2065GEDC2065
GEDC2065

Inkings anyone?
GEDC2129GEDC2129
GEDC2129

Inside the Eagle&Child


19th January 2011

Nice start
Loved your first blog entry. You're right - it will be a great way to remember your experiences there when it is all said and done. Love the pictures too especially with a description beneath them for those poor folk like us who don't get across the pond. Love ya, mom and dad, xo.

Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb