1st week


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
February 5th 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I haven't had much time at home, but I have been having the funnest week! Quick overview: Monday was orientation and we got into groups and did a 'London scavenger hunt' around the city finding some of the major sites. We were able to see (all briefly of course) Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and Parliament, the London eye from a distance, Trofalgar Square, St. Pauls Cathedral, and few other areas. After that we met back up at the house had a home cooked meal, as we have been having every night, and then went out to find a pub. We ended up at this really snazzy bar and it was only our group of about 10 kids, and it ended up being a really fun time and we all bonded. The next day was everyones first day of class except for those of us who are not in British Politics, like me. I hung around doing little things all day and we all went out to the sports cafe and met some other college students studying in the area and a possible superbowl spot. Wednesday was my first day of class which was from about 9-5 and I had Brit Media and London Theatre. My theatre teacher is soo typical. A really dramatic and artsy type. Its absolutely halarious. We found out the plays we are seeing and I am super excited. Some of the big names we are seeing are Kierra Knightly (sp?), Ian Mckellen (Gandalf LOTR) and many other local stars. We are also meeting in person one of the most influencial directors of the world, Peter Brook I believe is his name. We had British Seminar on Thursday and we went out to the Museum of London which was pretty cool. Saw some interesting exhibits. After that we are all free for a 3 day weekend, every week. We went to China Town and ate at a random chinese buffet and then walked around and went back to the house. Most of us went out last night and I was out with a very large group at a place down the street. We are all already getting very comfortable with eachother and some very interesting and funny things have been taking place in the house already. But im glad to see everyone getting along and having a blast with eachother. The bar we were at last night played old american music mainly rock and then some newer stuff so we were all loving it and just having the greatest time. I love our area and this entire city. Im sure I will become home sick soon and I already miss everyone but I can't imagine leaving right now! I am having the best time of my life and I hope everything goes as good as it has this week! Ill try to post some pics but there will be way more on facebook!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb