Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My trip home route


Having been back in the UK for a few weeks now its all feeling very normal. Most things are sort of the same as they were a couple of years ago but there are a few changes:

• Some of the high street shops are using fatter mannequins (and people in general are looking bigger having got used to the smaller stature Asians),

• 20 pound notes are different,

• Petrol costs loads! (but in comparison to wages its still less than in the Philippines),

Two things that I have been a bit disappointed by are a lack of choice in the international section in Tesco and rubbish customer service from the garage that is doing the MOT for the mini. (But it does now have a MOT and the mini is back on the road!) When I pay developing world prices I don’t mind developing world service but when they want English prices I want better service.

The UK looks rich - compared to all the places I have been we are. Even Japan doesn’t have the same depth of wealth. I guess that wealth feeling will wear off quite quickly!

Since being back
more familymore familymore family

The Top Gear office think my sister and I look "practicaly identical" we thought that that might not be very flattering to either of us!
I have had a tour of the UK with granny visiting in Gloucester, a great wedding in the Lake district (thanks Ross and Heather for taking the plunge), A job interview near Aberdeen, stopover in Edinburgh then on to London. One great day out was being part of the audience for filming of Top Gear at the Top Gear track in Surrey - the episode broadcast Sunday 29th June. That was courtesy of my sister who is still working on the show.

I spent plenty of time in the Philippines fantasising about bread, cheese and real milk. Now I have been putting plenty of effort into eating tons of all of them and fattening up again to fit in with the British physique. Very enjoyable.

The interview was for a job with the Forestry Commission up in Huntly, Aberdeenshire. They liked me, I liked them so I will be starting up there on the 7th July. The next few months will be about settling in, working out what the job actually is and sorting out somewhere to live. (and what I have been looking forward to for ages - getting out in the hills and back on the water)

So that’s the end of one adventure and the end of this blog. A great couple of years! I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone but if your up for a challenge give it a go. For a final cringe you can watch a short video from my leaving presentation in Lanuza

Thanks for following my adventure
Keep on having fun
Matt




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb