Waiting to leave Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
May 20th 2005
Published: May 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The hours.The hours.The hours.

Whiling away the remaining hours on a guitar...
Well, I'm still here at the moment in rainy Swansea just waiting to start my journey. Listening to Spanish tapes, playing guitar and breaking-in my new hiking boots are all I've got to do before I go. I've booked flights for Tuesday the 24th of May: London-Madrid-Guatemala... 15 hours of Iberian airways torture coming up. I flew to Cuba with them at Xmas and declared I'd never would again, but hey, I'm not always right. All I can remember is that they are a really tired, old airline with ageing hostesses who would make toothache seem more appealing than dealing with them.

I intend on studying Spanish in a town called Xela (pronounced 'shayla') in Guatemala for 3 or 4 weeks, possibly do some volunteer work and then just travel around central and south america for some time after that... I have a working visa for New Zealand and about 12 months to get there from now.

To be honest, I really don't know what's going to happen over the next year or so - but that's what I love about it. I may end up running a bar in Honduras or running for my life in Colombia or get lost in the depths of the Amazon or get to Peru and search for the rest of Paddington bear's family or get to New Zealand and decide enough is enough I want to come home!?!? Who knows? I am glad I don't.

Advertisement



22nd May 2005

Bon Voyage x x x
Best of luck to you Jamie ! You are about to embark on what most of us only ever get to dream about . You lucky, lucky sod . Live the dream babe , Tracy B X X - Tracy B .

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb