Wandering Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
July 10th 2008
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lake VyrnwyLake VyrnwyLake Vyrnwy

Late afternoon rainshowers over Lake Vyrnwy
Day three began with the weatherman calling for “improving” conditions, whatever that means. As I left the hotel, it was still raining but I sought consolation by telling myself “it’s gonna improve”. Three hours later, I was still muttering “it’s gonna improve” as the rain continued to pelt down. At the village of Cwmystwyth, I cross over the Cambrians along a narrow single track.

Finally, at around 3 PM I got a respite, as the sun peeked through. I’ll be the first to admit that the Thruxton is a bit of a poser’s bike, the Triumph struggling to keep up with faster, more powerful competitors on the open roads, yet when the roads become tight and narrow like this, the little twin mill really enters its own element. The engine’s healthy torque is accompanied by what has to be one of the most enjoyable soundtracks in all of motorcycledom. The twin’s snarling bark never lets you forget you’re on a proper motorbike. There’s just something intrinsically right about riding British iron on British roads. The two seem to be perfectly compatible with one another. When you’re out by yourself on a lonely backroad, listening to that lovely rumble, it’s all
Rainy RideRainy RideRainy Ride

Heading north under ominous skies.
to easy to imagine that you’re back in the 1960s when the British motorcycle industry ruled the world. It’s a shame the engine doesn’t have about 20 more horsepower.

Fortunately, I play dodge’em with the rain clouds for the rest of the afternoon, only getting a few sprinkles here and there. At around 4 PM, I pulled up and took stock in my situation. I was soaking wet and right now would be a nice place for a hotel to materialize before my eyes. While staring at the map, I noticed a lake with the word “Hotel” written next to it. Strange. It must be nice if it appears on the map. I head towards the lake and, sure enough, there’s a hotel overlooking Lake Vyrnwy. Quite a nice one too. It turns out the Lake Vyrnwy hotel is a former hunting lodge for the city leaders of Liverpool. I get a nice room with a view of the lake. More importantly, the room has a hair dryer so that I can dry out some of my soaked gear.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

VillageVillage
Village

A multi-hued Welsh village.
Single TrackSingle Track
Single Track

Crossing the Cambrians along a narrow single track
Cambrian MountainsCambrian Mountains
Cambrian Mountains

Continuing across the Cambrian Mountains under threatening skies.
SunshineSunshine
Sunshine

Nearing the middle of Wales at around 3 PM, the sun began to tease me.
Threatening SkiesThreatening Skies
Threatening Skies

...but threatening clouds loomed ahead.
North Of LlanidloesNorth Of Llanidloes
North Of Llanidloes

Passing a lake north of the town of Llanidloes.


Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb