Another Country Checked Off - Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Conwy
July 28th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Stuart, Kate and I made the hour and a half drive south to Northern Wales! I would say I lasted about ten minutes in the car before I fell asleep. I was astonished when I woke up, looked out the window and was staring at a stone wall of the Conwy Castle. We drove in circles around the village for a bit trying to find a "car park" or parking spot. Eventually we found one and bundled up against the Welsh wind. We walked across a bridge to get to the castle, where I got nice pictures, but we chose to continue walking through the village, rather than walk through the castle. We ducked into a few eccentric shops and made our way down to the water. I wouldn't say that the smell is one of Wales' best features, especially not by a fishing port. But it was interesting to look at, considering the water was fairly low, which made for quite a few sand bars. We spotted a tourist site named "Britain's Smallest House" and I believe it was! It was itty bitty, but we continued to walk to find food. We ate in a quaint cafe and then made our way back to the car.

We then drove through the mountains, which was gorgeous! I love all of the sheep in the UK, it makes everything seem more fun! I've been very lucky with the weather and I haven't experienced real rain here yet. But I'm sure that will all change because we leave this afternoon for Scotland. You simply can not escape rain in Scotland, but regardless, I'm so excited! Though I'm sure I'll sleep the entire drive. I'm cursed and can't stay awake in vehicles.

Last night I watched the opening ceremony of the Olympics at Kate's (and now my) friend, Chris' house. It was spectacular! I loved the themes of the performance and I thought it was planned so well. I'm very much hoping that we're able to watch some of the events on TV while in Scotland. I'm really enjoying my time here, although I am homesick for my family and friends. I hope everyone is doing well! Lots of love xxx.

Advertisement



31st July 2012

scotland music
when you drive into scotland you should play mogwai's "how to be a werewolf" which has little to do with being a werewolf but lots to do with glorious instrumental music from a scottish band. have fun.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb