Wrapping Up The Great Britain Adventure - A Tad Late


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Dumfriesshire
September 20th 2012
Published: September 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

During the last part of my trip, it was so incredibly hectic and jam-packed that I had no time (or internet access) to write. While being denied the internet actually allowed me to enjoy my time even more, I failed to remember to finish up telling the stories of this adventure, so now I must do so! After having spent the first week bopping around Northern England with the Kirby's and friends, we departed for a week in Scotland. Ann booked a wonderful cottage in Crossmichael, Scotland for the entire week and we were extremely happy with it. It was beautifully decorated and had the most spectacular view of Scottish countryside. We had an excellent week touring Loch Ness (which was the first thing that I was able to cross off of my bucket list!), roaming around Edinborough, and attending a small town Stewarty Show, where farmers show off their prize livestock. It was a great experience for me to be for the most part cut off from contact with my loved ones back home. Being denied internet allowed me to prove to myself that I don't really need it, which is a valuable lesson for a teenager, as most of us are madly attached to our electronics. Upon our return to England, we drove through the Lake District, which is GORGEOUS! A must see for anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery. We saw many goats and sheep that had escaped their pens and were hitchhiking along the tiny, narrow road (which people still sped through at high speeds, oh those English drivers). Once back "home", I was able to see more of the downtown of Liverpool while going out with friends on one of my last nights. After an hour's worth of sleep in a friends small apartment, the next morning was spent walking around the city and doing some shopping! I didn't realize until then how much I loved the city! It was very bittersweet to say goodbye to my English family because I became so close to them. They're incredibly generous and fun people and I'm so lucky to have spent this time with them. I certainly hope that in the future both Hannah and Kate will visit me over in the U.S. so I can repay them. Coming home was excellent though! I was happy to see my family and friends. I traveled down to my home of Florida recently to visit my mother, sister, nephew, niece, brother-in-law, aunts, uncles, and cousins before Part Two of my next adventure...which I happen to be leaving for in less than three hours!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb