A Day Trip to York


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire
July 24th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm not positive if the exact region of "North Yorkshire" is correct, but they did not offer the town of York as an option, so I made do. Regardless, the day trip we took yesterday was to York, the place in which the New York we know and love was named after. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I really enjoyed the old town. I saw many historical sites including Clifford's Tower, the Minster of York, and the Treasurer's House, where we took a ghost tour in the cellar.

Most of York had a very old fashioned feeling and stayed true to it's history by keeping up with repairs and maintenance of it's older features. I was particularly drawn to the shambles, the road that dates back very long ago. It was extremely narrow with many cute shops and you could feel as if you had been taken back in time. I got quite a few good photos of the sites and the town itself.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb