Getting Back on Track


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Ceredigion » Aberystwyth
August 14th 2015
Published: August 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Woolly says – I was up early, actually I’m up early every morning now with the cries of the gulls and the tide pounding the beach, I tried moaning about the interference in my sleep patterns but no one seemed to care or do anything about it!



I’m not sure what he would like me to do about the noises of nature, shoot the gulls! Stop the tides!



Woolly says – well she could at least try. Today though promised to be a treat, an outing just for me…. Well ok for Jo as well and for once we were on common ground in our liking for the day’s activity. Having checked the view from our garret window I pulled on my hoodie and mam o’shanter and was ready for anything, having then been hustled into the bathroom I remerged slightly cleaner and apparently smelling somewhat fresher.



There are cow pats that smell better than my small friend, even the flies leave him alone!



Woolly says – I think it might be the garlic that puts the flies off!!! Having checked that Jo has everything I might need and a few snacks to keep my strength up I bounded down the flights from our attic lair and onto Aberystwyth promenade. Even the light drizzle couldn’t dampen my spirits as we made our way to the train station. Not the ordinary train station but the ‘proper’ train station, as I ambled down the platform I could see the tender building up its steam and while Jo sorted out the small task of paying I hurried towards the track and my first sight of the engine that would be pulling us today. As Jo snatched me off the tracks and bundled me into a carriage I sat and sighed with satisfaction.

The Vale of Rheidol Light Railway was authorised by Act of Parliament on 6th August 1897. At the time of building, it was of the most up to date standard of narrow gauge construction, the narrow gauge was used as it would have been almost impossible to build a standard gauge line in the areas through which it needed to cross, the railway finally opened to the general public on 22nd December 1902. The line provided much needed prosperity to the area in the moving of lead to the coast and timber which could be used for pit props in the South Wales mines. Its use declined following the First World War and it was closed completely in 1930. Following British Rails privatisation in 1989 the line, stations and rolling stock were taken over by a charitable trust and re-opened for the public to once again enjoy the beauty of steam.





With a peep peep from the front we chugged away from the town and into the Rheidol Valley.



Woolly says – there is nothing better than making train noises and the small girl sitting behind me certainly seemed to be in agreement as we chugged our way through the glorious lush countryside. As we climbed from the valley floor more and more mist descended until it was difficult to distinguish between the steam and the atmosphere. As we passed horses grazing, cows lowing and kites flying although I couldn’t see any strings on them the river Ystwyth grow from a small stream to a pounding torrent of water. Far below I could see the Rhiedol Reservoir before my view vanished to be replaced by heather strewn rock face as we pulled into our destination.



In our planning we had had to consider the weather situation and make a decision on arrival as to how much we would be able to do.



Woolly says – the drizzle from the sea front had changed into a steady torrent and as I climbed down from the carriage I considered the fact that we would probably be on Plan b for the day. Passing the Two Hoot’s Café I waved at the giant owl who was guarding the seating area as Jo and I made haste out of the car park and onto the road to see how much of the Devils Falls we would be able to see without going on the walk through its nature trail (Plan a was to go on the walk and take the second train back giving us five hours to roam freely, lovely on a sunny day but not workable in the conditions).



We were getting wetter and wetter and knowing we still had the walk back to the train I took pity on my companion and picked him up to save his small legs.



Woolly says – She can be nice sometimes…. As we walked Jo told me the legend of Devils Bridge…..



around the IIth Century, the Devil visited Wales as he had never been there before and he had heard that the scenery was breathtaking. He soon came across an old lady who seemed upset. "What's the matter?" he asked out of curiosity.
"Oh, I'm in such a terrible muddle and I don't know what to do!. My cow has wandered across the river and I can't get her back".
'Ah!" said the Devil 'What you need my dear, is a bridge, and I am just the man to build you one. Why don't you go home, and in the morning there will be a bridge waiting for you. All I ask in return is to keep the first living thing to cross the bridge!"
"Okay then" she said "It's a bargain. I'll see you in the morning. Nos da, Goodnight"


That night she wondered about this stranger who would build her a bridge. 'What a strange request! Why should I cross the bridge to get my cow back if he gets to keep me in exchange? Mind you it is very tempting offer"

The next day she got up and called for her faithful dog. Together they went down to the river. "Well well" she couldn't believe her eyes. In front of her was the best bridge that she had ever seen! I told you that I would build you a bridge" said the Devil appearing from nowhere.
"Now it's your turn to keep your side of the bargain".
I know, you get to keep the first living thing to cross the bridge" and she started to walk towards the bridge. But just when she got to the entrance, she stopped, took out a loaf of bread from her apron pocket and hurled it across the bridge. As quick as a flash and before the Devil could stop it, the dog chased after it. 'Aaaaaaagh!!!!!" screeched the Devil. "You stupid old woman, I don't believe it! Your smelly, hairy farm dog has become the first living thing to cross my bridge. It's no good to me" he screamed and then he vanished.


Well, the Devil was never seen in Wales again as he was so embarrassed at being outwitted by the old lady. High in the mountains near Aberystwyth, there is a village where a very old bridge crosses a deep gorge. Above it are two other bridges built at later dates. But the lowest one....Well, they say that the Devil himself built it!



Woolly says – I would have been happy with the dog, you just can’t satisfy some people! The bridge is unusual in that three separate bridges are coexistent, each one built upon the previous bridge. The most recently built is an iron bridge (1901) which was built over a stone bridge (1753), which was built when the original bridge was thought to be unstable. The builders of the 1753 bridge used the original bridge (built 1075–1200) to support scaffolding during construction. Even peering over as far as I could I couldn’t see the bridge…..



That might be because we were stood on it Woolly!



Woolly says - We quickly considered the plans and as Jo took a quick shot I wondered if William Wordsworth who wrote about the "Torrent at the Devil's Bridge" got as wet as I was. Hurrying back towards the station I could hear rushing water maybe next time Jo can plan the weather a bit better and we could really explore.



To cheer him up we stopped at the café and as Woolly slurped his hot chocolate and made crumbs with his bara brith he tried outstaring the guard owl.



Woolly says – with my snack consumed and a bit more chocolate added to my fur I ambled over to the engine to talk to the young driver and stoker who both volunteer to drive the train, apparently they hadn’t had a mammoth on board before so a first for both of us! As our little train wooo wooo’d again I settled down on top of Jo’s bag to watch the views in reverse and consider what was to come in the next few months.



With the bar now closed, daughter Zoe, myself and Woolly has considered our choices…



Woolly says – I was all for heading straight back to turkey and my wonderful warm balcony.



….. having been in Aberystwyth for graduation and with the contact network that daughter Zoe has and our wonderful friend Jade providing us with a roof over our heads it seemed a sensible option to settle here for the next few months whilst sorting out the next part of our travels.



Woolly says – with daughter Zoe and Jo both working on the pier (Zoe serving ice cream – I’m apparently barred from there after my last visit! – and Jo throwing soup and food over the customers in the restaurant) for the better part of the week I find myself unencumbered by humans and can happily spend hours throwing pistachio shells at gulls on the roof or wandering along the prom sharing fish and chips with the tourists….



Note to self …. Lock mammoth in room when going to work!





Woolly says - …. As if I would, I mean really I could never …. Ok I might have done. Contentment is a wonderful place to be and although it might only be an odd day out now and then for the time being it does give me plenty of time to finish my plans on conquering the rest of the world!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



14th August 2015

Good to see you and Wooly...
back on track...both of our puns intended. I see you passed through Capel Bangor. Is that Bangor, Wales...that's where my son graduated from law school in July? Good that you are taking a pause to consider options...return to Turkey or stay where you are with family and friends. Perhaps half a year each place!?
15th August 2015

Back on track indeed
Bangor is a few hours drive away from here, Capel Bangor is a very very small village in the valley area but I'm not sure if there is a connection between the two. Congrats to your son on gaining one of the hardest degrees (my Dad told me it was always the hardest to obtain). Our plans won't really involve Turkey except to go back for visits but we are looking at relocating to France, when Ian and I decided to move abroad it was between Turkey and France and we went with his favourite, Zoe and I think we can however make a good life in France without quite so much heat and for her no issues with the cultural side of things so half a year in France and half a year travelling once we have everything in place.... well that's the plan!
15th August 2015

the railway
I have a friend who drives the talyllyn train Woolly and his wifey thing guards it .................
15th August 2015

Peep Peep
I wonder if we saw them yesterday! There was a blonde lady at Aber station could that be her?

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb