Thus Far: My first week of classes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
October 4th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had my first week of classes this week! I also got a bank account, and I have money in it! I officially live in Cardiff... I guess.

My first class, if I haven't already said it, is Reading Poetry. As you know the teacher makes me a bit nervous. I just feel like I'm not going to get the help I may need from her. Another thing is I don't feel that comfortable in her class. I feel as if I'm not connecting the way I should. Tomorrow, I'm going to her class, but she is to send me to the other teacher's class. IF he is on the same day! I looked up his class and all I found was he was on Tuesdays. It's at the same time as Reading/Writing Women, therefore, that's I NO. Not really looking forward to this class. Not really. Maybe as time goes on I'll feel better.

After that class I have Starting to Write. Which I don't know what it's about because I haven't gone to that class yet. I believe I have already wrote about having to switch times and everything. Not sure if I feel good or bad about it. Nervous. I suppose that's how I feel.

On Tuesday I have Reading/Writing Women, which I like so far! I have it on Tuesdays and Fridays. (ugh! I have jelly all over my hands right now!) I really enjoy listening and talking to the teacher. Also, I spoke up in class on Friday. I never do that! So, I gave my opinion, and my point was a pretty good one! (can we say unusual.) Oh, by the way, we had to read "A Jury of Her Peers" for Tuesday and I think you should read it! It's an American short story. I really like it! I actually read it in Mrs. Heavner's class! I've always thought about the story every now and then. Thinking how interesting women were thought to be UNDER men. That they couldn't possibly do anything other then "their chores around the house." This story shows that women understand the trifles (the name of the play for this story) other women go through. I don't know. It's weird, I'm thinking about this while I writing. I'm also not quiet sure I fully agree with what I'm saying. I'm going through developing thoughts! Anyways, I like this class so far!

On Wednesday I have Photography! I like it, but I'm confused about all the stuff as well. Even wrote that in my "Visual Diary." I have to keep one for class. I'm suppose to work with a group going around taking 12 pictures in and around the ATRiuM. (That's how I see it spelled often. hum?) However, the group hasn't really gotten back to me yet. I think tomorrow, if I don't hear anything from them, I'm going to write my teacher. Also, I'll go out on my own taking pictures.. I'm a bit nervous. I'd feel better in a group!

Then, on Thursdays, I have Writing Media first at (now) 9 in the morning! Ugh, it was 10 or maybe 11.. I don't know. I do know it's 9 now! Ugh, that mean's I have to get up even earlier because I have to take a train to get there! WOW! I don't know if I like it or not. I do, but I don't know how I feel about people reading my stuff. I don't think I'm that good. Also, all the people may be first years, BUT they had to send writings into the school just to be accepted into the program. I don't know what I'm going to do! AHHH!
OH! And I learned a bit about some of the people in my class. One wants to go to America! haha, I thought that was funny! We should switch schools if he really wants to go to America! Most the people want to be published. I like what my mom told me, and what I tell people. (Because in a nut shell it's what I believe) 'don't care if I get published or not, it's my love of writing I care about. Just to be able to write is good enough. HOWEVER! If I do get published that would be awesome too!' Then there is a girl in my class that worked and saved enough money to publish herself! I thought that was pretty cool.

After that class I have German 1... 5 hours after Writing Media! Which means I'm sitting around campus doing whatever. (Homework, reading, writing, etc..) Well, I like German. Not exactly what I thought it would be, but it's real nice. I can read what we learned, but when it comes to pronouncing, I suck at it! haha. I like it though!

Lastly, on Fridays I have Reading/Writing Women Seminar. This is the class I spoke up in! I don't usually do that when I'm in class with a bunch of people don't I know. I don't talk as much as most of you know me for! When I don't know people real well and I'm not in my comfort zone, I tend to be a bit more quite. However, I've noticed that's not always the case with me. I've noticed I can start conversations with some people that I don't even know. Like when I met Thirza (almost like saying tear-za, I still have trouble pronouncing her name! haha) I felt comfortable enough to talk her ears off! Though, she's kind of the same way. NOT THAT SHE TALKED MY EARS OFF!! SHE JUST LIKES TO TALK LIKE ME! She also laughs at the way I say things or the words I use. She says, "OHHH! That's so cute!" hehe.

After Reading/Writing Women I have Writer's Toolkit. It seems like it's going to be good. I can bring my work in from Writing Media and Starting to Write and get help in this class with it. Also, we'll learn more about terminology of writing, what ways there are to write, and how to use everyday experience and make them seem more then what they are... Something like that. OH. My teacher is from California! haha. She told the class that I was from America (I had already met her the day before) and they should all be nice to me so as I will say nice things about welsh people!

Well, that was my first week of classes. Not that great, I know, but it lets you know what I've been up to this week. Well, class wise that is! Hopefully I'll have more adventurous writings. Or at least more interesting blogs!


OH!!!! AND WE HAVE A HOUSE MASCOT! A HAMSTER NAMED FRISKY!

Advertisement



6th October 2009

Whew!
Wow! You sound like you are going to be busy, and you are going to experience and learn a great deal. Proud of you!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb