Starting Classes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
September 28th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I started my classes today!

OMGOODNESS! The teacher for Reading Poetry really freaked me out! My housemates laughed at me when I said that. However, while Laura laughed, she also knew what I was going through. Just a bit at least. I don't know why the teacher, Dr. Alice, freaked me out so bad. It might have been that she was very direct and blunt. Good thing about today though, I talked to the teacher and she asked if I would be ok with transfering to another class. Same time, different teacher. YES! I didn't show how happy I was to do that, but I really was. Oh, and she wasn't trying to be rude. Some of the other people were suppose to be in the other class, but didn't know where to go. It was assumed that we would all meet in the same room today and then split up next week. Also, I didn't have a set place to go to. Therefore, I was open to going to either her or the guy. (I don't know his name yet.) I'll probably write him an email to let him know I'm an exchange student and I'm taking his class.

I guess I could be taking a chance going to someone else for this class. Not knowing what he will be like as a teacher and such, but that's life. Anyways, I'd rather take the chance! Dr. Alice was nice, she just scarred me a bit. When she asked if I would transfer, she said that many people will probably have to do the same. She's afraid they'll want to stay with her because they know her. I know that I want to leave because I know her. I guess that works out great for both of us. However, I don't think she would like knowing that I felt that way. I don't mean to offend, I'm only going off what I saw today. She could actually be great person and a fun teacher. Or she could be the complete opposite. Or in the middle... I don't know. I do know that I want to take the other class...

Now that I have spent two paragraphs saying the same thing over and over again, lets move on. I was suppose to take a Stating to Write class. However, the one I signed up for was canceled. When I found out, by phone call from Chris Meredith, I was told I could choose one of two times for the same class. One on Thursday at 3-5 (15-17) or Monday 3-5 (15-17). (His order, not mine. Anyways, I always seem to list things backwards...) I have a German 1 class on Thursday 4-6 (16-17) so that is a total conflict. I opted for the Monday class... Then freaked out when I saw it was almost 4! Turns out I'd be ok if I missed this class just today. All I have to do is show up next week. Chris was going to let the teachers of the Monday class know that I would be attending. ("For info, exchange student Samantha Johnson will join the Monday 3-5 Starting to Writing class in room D18 starting next Monday.") Guess that's one class I don't have to worry about this week. Or maybe I should... I don't know. (haha I keep writing IDK for I don't know but I'm not sure how many people know what that means so I backspace and write it all out!) Ok that might not have been funny to you, but it was a bit humorous to me.

On with my chattering, or is it... I was going to say discourse, but it seems that would be too formal a word... hum, guess I'll just use the word writing. Since writing is the best word to describe what I'm doing, and give no ambiguity of either talking or writing. I believe discourse, and pretty much any other word, does that. Haha, I think I might be over using big words! Sorry, I probably didn't even use them right, but maybe I did and now I've let everyone in on the fact that I'm not sure... No confidence what so ever! haha.

Going on...

I went to start a bank account today. As an international student I have to use a twelve month plan. The bank calls it their "Passport Plan." Sounds easy enough to understand. However, when I went in there were other people in before me wanting to do the same thing. I talked to a guy who asked loads of questions, thinking I didn't have the right documents or knew what the plan was about. To his surprise I did know and have everything. HAHA! TWO POINTS FOR SAM! He gave me his card and asked if I would come in tomorrow early and ask for him. He'd be right with me, and I wouldn't have to wait! Whoo Hoo! Looks like knowledge does get you somewhere!

Whelp, that's all I got today. Guess I might write something about tomorrow's classes and banking stuff, but only if it's interesting. I don't want to bore my lovely readers! Even though I probably did... haha sorry. Well, if you got comments or want to ask anything at all, just do so! I love you all. Write soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb