Freshers Week


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SOOOO! Yep, this is about what you would expect from a bunch of new Uni. students... Going to figure out what in the world they are suppose to do for the first year at school!

As an international student, we are not obligated to follow a certain path. Actually, we are encouraged to try something new. Do something you can't do at you home university, as long as it's ok... (Sometimes even when it's not ok!) I've discovered that I'm on the wrong campus. Seems this campus is for "Creative Action" and not so much "Creative Writing." Even though the ATRiuM, in Cardiff, is suppose to be the creative campus. If you didn't read the blog before this one then you are OUT OF ORDER! But I'll let you in on the whole "on this campus" bit. There are three campuses to University of Glamorgan. There now you know. Want anything more?? Then go to the other blog!!

Now for all you people that did read the first blog, I'll finish this blog. On Thursday, when I was kicked out of my room in Trefforest at 9 in the morning, I had to move into my house! Which went over well. Jenn, z Canadian, helped me take all my stuff down to the train, across the bridge (ugh... stairs!), and onto the train. When we got to my stop, two of my roommates where there. Jenny, whom I met, and Marta! It was a bit weird seeing someone new, but nice because this is someone I'll be living with for a while. By the way Marta and I have much in common. Taste wise, like in music and stuff. We are different too... I can't really explain it. Really I'm so versatile sometimes I have much in common with all the girls! I guess because Marta likes crazy (screaming?) songs and Blue Banana store clothes. However, I like many of the same things the other girls like too! Like boys, music (again I'm versatile!), food, and crazy actions! haha. Anyways back on track. Sorry! We went to my house and got everything put in my room. Didn't put it away though! Guess I'm classic American lazy!

Jenn and I waited for Ali and Caroline to wake up so we could go to Ikea. Jenny, Freda, and Marta showed us where the bus stops were, and Jen knew where we needed to go. Ali, Caroline, Jen, and I went to eat at a pub called Varsity. Good food! Then we went to Ikea. I've never been so this was.. you guessed it (or maybe you didn't) AN ADVENTURE!!!

I walked all around and wanted so many things! The store was so big and amazing! I ended up only getting essentials. However, I need to go back so I can get a clothes rack. (We only have a washer in my house.) Then we went back. The four Americans, and Canadian who kind of is still North American... with our huge blue, reusable bags getting on a bus. When we got back we didn't exactly get back to the starting zone. We found Queens St station and got on a train. The guy I bought my ticket from joked with us about being so obviously American. I accidentally said, "Oh! I have some cents" and he said, "you better have some pence too!" Ugh, I felt so stupid. I can't help but say dollars and cents still.

So, we get on a train, and then we are off. I get off at Cathays, and make my first journey from the train station to my house on my own!

All weekend I spent time with my new roommates. Jenny, Freda, and Marta were moved in already. Emma was coming on Sunday, then Laura on Monday.

Monday I had my first session for Freshers week. I meet with Phil Sheen and a woman name Mary. They were nice and told us somethings we were going to do this week. When I got home from that, Laura was there! I missed her so much! She studied abroad at my school last year. By the way, for those that know her, she's doing great.

Well, our house was finally complete! So of course we had to celebrate. All of us went out to Oceana, I'm not sure if that's what it's called. Or even if that's how they spell it. I just checked, it is spelled that way! (O-she-ana) We went out in a theme: Black and White with a splash of color. I wore my new dress I bought the week before. It was cute! I love it! I met a guy that had seen me earlier that day at the ATRiuM. It was so funny how I had no idea who he was, but he was real nice and we talked just for a bit. Then we went dancing on the dance floor. O MY GOODNESS! Dancing was fun, however, I'm not the kind of person to dance in a crowd. I was so surprised I did it.

By the way, Oceana is an interesting club. It has about 6 different rooms. Some are dance floors, some are just sit around and talk, and some are both! Oh, and Monday nights are student nights. No idea why or when it started, but that's how it is.

We got back so late, and I was so exhausted! I slept late, then went to another session at the ATRiuM. By this time I had met another international girl. Her name is Thriza. Don't ask me to pronounce it, because I'm still having trouble doing so. She told me eventually I'm going to come up with a nickname for her. Now, we're pretty good friends. We're going shopping tomorrow with Laura! (LAURA HAS A CAR! YAY) Back on track. All the international students at the ATRiuM are pretty close now. We have things to do all year together. The University has set up events for the international students to do. Every campus has their own group of international students. So yeah, if it's still a bit confusing just ask and I'll try harder to explain.

When I got home, it was be lazy time. Then we went out again. My housemates and I went to this place that's like an underground club called Barfly. It was so much fun that night. Someone thought I was preforming there. My housemates said it was the hair! Oh yeah, our theme that night was wear floral and back comb your hair. I looked crazy. The girls had lots of fun destroying my hair! haha. We got back late, yet again. However, I didn't mind because it was so great. Then we stayed up a bit long being loud. Good times, good times.

The next day I went to another session. It was good. A librarian from the ATRiuM Sang us a song! Hey, did you know LIC is another way to say Library! haha, well if you did, awesome. If you didn't, ISN'T THAT COOL! "come to the library, Come to the LIC. LIC is just another way to say Library. Come see us at the Library." haha it's was great. Then we watched some films. We came in when they were half way into one student film. Honestly, it was so bad! The production was pretty, bad. At the end, the guys there were in the movie, and did all the film and writing (though it was improve mostly), and they said that the project was more about the acting and nothing to do with the film work. That's good! It was kind of a spin off on "Spinal Tap" the movie. Anyways. We saw another film, which at the end of it my roommate, Marta, was in it. She also set designed it! Then the next movie my other roommates, Jenny and Freda, worked on it! I was so excited and ready to tell them I saw those films!

The international students were going out to eat after the films and I was invited. We got a cheap meal. Two meals for 7 something pounds. The food was really good! Then I went home to work out class times and such. We were going to sign up for classes the next day, so I wanted to do some research to better prepare myself. Thriza was in the same set of mind as me. She lives close by my house. She actually walks by it when going and coming from the ATRiuM. Therefore, we walked aback together. Along with a german girl and a french guy. The others went out to a pub.

When I got home, two of my roommates were going crazy! They wanted to put tape on the floor in an outline of a body to "spruce up" the house? Then They wanted to take a pencil and draw out their body shapes on the walls. Which they then proceeded to cover the clothes out lines with magazines and such. The hair part of their body outlines were masked with ripped out pages of hair magazines. It's only half way done so far, and we're all going to do one body outline on the walls. I think. May take us the whole year to do all of us!

The next day, today, the international students (IS as will not start to call us) signed up for classes. Then we went on a trip to St Fagans. It was fun. We saw houses of welsh people from back in the day. I think the 30's to the 80's. It was fun to look at everything. See the sheep and pigs! haha. After a bit I got a tired and just wanted to leave. Some of us went to the cafe at the front of the museum, which was outside. There I had the best hot chocolate with marshmallows ever! I want to go back just for that drink!

When I got home I pretty much stayed inside. I am super tired. Even now. I can't believe it, but I've been sitting here writing for the last hour! I told myself I'd go to bed early, but it's 2 in the morning here. Guess I really will be going to be early..! hehe, get it? Ah, never mind. If you didn't it's ok, if so then yeah I know I'm dumb sometimes! Ok so sorry if there are many writing errors in eher. I'm supper tired and don't feel like proofreading all this. I'd be surprised if you read all this in one sitting. I don't know if I could!

Well tata for now! See if I write any more soon! I should be. Oh, and if you want to know more or anything you can just comment or if you know me on facebook then email me or something! NIGHT!!!

Advertisement



26th September 2009

Wow!
Looks like you have been having a great time and must be wore out. I got tired just reading all that you have been doing. Be safe, be smart, and remember who you are! You are your father's daughter. Love you--Yo Pa.

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb