Up to date...September 11-17


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OK, so I've been here for almost two weeks now. It'll be two weeks tomorrow! WOW. I came over from Charlotte to Detroit to Amsterdam to Cardiff where one of my roommates, Emma, came to pick me up! Her parents were with her and they were super nice! Emma got me a little red dragon statue. The red dragon is a symbol of Wales. I'll tell you about that story later... hopefully. If I forget someone might need to remind me. Or you can look it up...

We went to the house in Cathays. I got my room key, found out I had some rent issues, and then checked out the house were I met two more of my roommates, Freda and Jenny. We hung out for a bit, while I sat and waited for jet lag pain to go away. I was suppose to go to the University in Trefforest for welcome week, however, after flying with no sleep I was not in the mood. Eventually I stated to feel better so off we went to go to Trefforest. We were in Cardiff so it was about four to five stops, on the train, to get to the school.

By the way, University of Glamorgan has three campuses. Trefforest, which is the main campus. Then there's Cardiff (ATRiuM), which is near where I live. Last there is Glentaff (I think I spelled that wrong) which I know nothing about!

When I got to Trefforest I signed up to get a room. The room was fifty pounds for the week (Friday to Thursday). My roommates had to loan me some money. Don't worry I paid them back so it's not like I take, take, take and no give. I went straight to bed. It was about 8pm (20.00) or something like that, but I was soooo exhausted! I felt so sick, even the next morning. Everyone could tell too. Ahh! But I did make my first set of international friends, Flavia and Noa. Flavia is Italian, and Noa is French. I don't get to see them that much now, because we're on different campuses. 😞 Later, like 2pm , I took a nap for two hours and felt loads better.

Throughout the week I did sessions to learn about how I can get help at the school. I also did something every night. The nights were a way to get to know all the international students that came for the week. (The welcome week was for international students only, even the student helpers where international people!) I met many Germans, and many French! As you know I met Flavia and Noa, well later I met Nina, Hannah, Pedro, Ayo, Zuhail, Mira, and Jenn. (Germany, Singapore, I don't remember but I do... sorry Pedro, Nigeria, India, Check republic, and Canada.) Jenn and I still talk, but I kind of lost contact with the others. Which is sad. But I know a German girl and Check guy that I met that week who live in Cardiff too! I also caught up with two girls from Western Carolina Univ. Caroline and Ali. They have a house in Trefforest so I should be visiting them soon!

Something fun I did was go on a tour to two castles, one being the Castle of Cardiff. The first castle was soo cool. It had stuff like the green lady ghost story! At night the castle has green lights to keep up the story! Some say they can see her walking around in the green mist. Even some construction workers refused to work on the castle entrance after 3pm (15.00) because at that time it got really cold (which is a sign of a ghost!) There was also stuff about a king being hung, drawn, and quartered! You don't want me to tell you about that... It's gross, but I thought it was sooo cool! The stories from this place were amazing! ahhh! I loved it!

Well, that was my first week. I'll write more about my second week later tonight. Right now my battery is low so I need to get off. If you have any questions or comments do hesitate! I miss everyone back home! I love you guys! SO MUCH!

Advertisement



26th September 2009

OOPS
Sorry my dyslexia kicked in... the "czek" guy... sorry! I suck at this!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb