South West Arran


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 13th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Weather Report

Not too sure - and I was there ! About 6am the sky was clear but gradually became overcast and there was a short shower just after 9. Remainder of the day dry and warm when in the sun. Cooler when clouds came at odd intervals. Sort of day when you are unsure what to wear !!!!

Walked into Brodick and hired a bicycle - although by that time I was not sure what I wanted to as the weather was a little unpredictable. Took the plunge and set off at 9.20 when the aforementioned shower had cleared. Began the long climb out of Brodick (Note - Arran is very hilly !) and in about a mile found that I had a puncture. Rang hire company (mobiles do have their uses) who dispatched new bike that arrived within ten minutes.

Set off again and after puffing up the long climb braved the steep descent to Lamlash through gritted teeth. Nothing there of great interest (Lamlash - not the teeth) although there were views across to Holy Island. There is a ferry but at £9 return I might give it a miss - seems rather expensive for a two mile crossing.

Took the road to Glen Scorrodale. That was v v very steep made even worse by the flies which I could not shale off on the uphill section as I was going so slowly ! Eventually reached the summit which was a pleasant upland area with much conifer forest and views back to Holy Island. Long descent through an attractive glen during which I saw an eagle land in some trees perhaps a quarter of a mile away. Too far for a ‘photo. I waited some minutes but decided it was probably waiting for me to move on - which I did.

Finally reached the end of the glen which of course was the opposite side of the island to that where I had started. Turned left and headed south for the southern end of Arran. Attractive road with excellent views out to sea especially of the small island of Pladda with its lighthouse.

Reached the far south east corner of Arran and headed north once more passing through a couple of attractive villages before arriving back at Lamlash. Then the final climb and then descent back into Brodick - along but satisfying day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb