The Hebrides


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
April 26th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well here we are with two days to go. I have checked my bike over and fitted the rear rack. I have put on. A 35mm back tyre to cope with extra weight and any rough roads and tracks. The panniers have been removed from the shelf and started to fill them. No dought I will strip half of it out when I find out how much it all weighs. I had a bit of a shock yesterday when the care home, where my 94 year old mother lives rang to say she had pneumonia and was rushed into hospital at midnight.Luckily she is now making a good recovery and the trip is now still on track.

The problem with a British trip is deciding what cycling gear to pack. It will inevitably rain and possibly also be cold so you end up taking too much. My legs will undoubtedly pay for it later.

I have charged my cameras ready and packed my battery chargers, which must weigh as much as the bike. I phone, I Pad - ugh the list goes on. What happened to travelling light and leaving the hourly burly life behind?

We now await the good weather we need and cycle to Preston on Saturday for the journey to Glasgow, where it will all begin. I cannot wait.

You can look at Bill's blog at, www.billhoneywell.blogspot.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb