FIRST SEA DAY


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 27th 2011
Published: July 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

CONGRATULATIONS ROSE: YOU GO GIRL!!!

July 26, 2011 A DAY AT SEA

Wake up call sounded at 6:45 and coffee and juice arrived at seven. It’s an overcast morning in the North Sea, outside temperature is 59, the sea is 52, and there are swells of 4 – 8 feet.
At nine I met the CC group for breakfast. Seven of us arrived and were a bit disappointed in the service. While I was served right away (smoked salmon and a bagel) others waited almost a half hour for their food. Still it was nice to relax and visit. Then I wandered around the ship and took photos of the public rooms. I was too full to join the Single and Solo luncheon and the Lido was a real zoo. There was absolutely no place to sit inside and it was too cool outside. This could be a real problem.
At 1:30 it was Team Trivia time and we came in second with twelve correct answers, the winner had thirteen. Sample questions: What was Bing Crosby’s real first name? What do you call a group of goldfish?
At three I decided to attend Afternoon Tea. I joined a table of ladies and enjoyed finger sandwiches, a scone with jam and cream and I lovely small piece of chocolate cake. What I had to wait for and ask for three times was the tea. Again the service was slow and disorganized. Not sure what is going on in the dinning room.
I met the group for happy hour in the Crow’s Nest. I was especially looking forward to meeting Uri and Miriam as they are joining me tomorrow. Well no! While I was working to accommodate them and their friends and without telling me, they had booked a ships tour.
On to plan B. Tony Lee, his wife and friends had wanted to join me but I didn’t have room. I asked him if he wanted to come along and he had to check with his wife. No, they won’t be going along. So here I am with a large van reserved and no one to share the cost. So it’s on to plan C. Nanette and Jeff had planned to walk along the cliffs and offered to come along. I will see if I can get a smaller car. If they chose not to come along I’ll be off on my own. No worries.
Tonight was our first formal night and everyone looked lovely. It is nice to see. I enjoyed a Duck Pate followed by Gazpacho and Quail stuffed with spinach and goat cheese. Yummy.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb