Hey Everyone


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 10th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,
Well it has finally come and I am overseas. Its been a few days since I have arrived but I'll back track and update you on what has happened.
On Tuesday the 6th I left about lunch time, It was absolutely the hardest things I've ever done leaving Mitch and my Family behind. To tell you the truth I was bloody scared, absolutely shitting myself. The flights were awful, Needless to say my love affair with long distance flying has ended. Couldn't say it was the best airline I've been on but was ok. Everytime I did fall asleep they would wake you up and not just leave you alone. The movies were ok, Do not recommend ghost writer at all, absolute crap. Anyway the stop overs were actually quite short which was good, just long enough to stretch the legs and get a move on.

When we finally made it to the airport the plane wasn't allowed to land cause they were to early and the airport wasn't open, So we had to circle quite a few times. Who knew a huge international airport had opening and closing times. So we circled and finally landed. Filled out my little landing cards to which the custom officer had trouble understanding that my job would let me have 3 months, with alot of going around in circles of saying I applied for time off and they let me have it, and the him asking how did I get the leave and how did I have so much leave banked. Anyway it took awhile but we got there in the end, I think he just got over the kick he was having playing with the overtired me and let me through. Picked up the bags, topped up the oyster card and hoped on the tube for kings cross. Nothing has changed it come back reasonably well.

So I got off at kings cross made my way up the giant escalators (keeping to the right of course). Passed the spot that I happened to throw up in a few years ago (reference to Mitch and Liv) laughed and and kept going. Got my tickets for the train up to Aberdeen. Had a few hours to kill before my train so I wandered around a little bit, topped up the uk sim, spoke to mitch and sent a few msgs and before I knew was on the train. Slept a little of the way, read and generally just stared out the window. The train ride was actually easier than the flight, I suppose this cause I actually had something to look at.

Arrived at Aberdeen to find Darren waiting, Thank the lord cause I needed to see someone I knew. Anyway Went back to his flat chucked the bag down had a shower and went out to watch the football germany vs spain match. Was fading by the end of the match. Went back to the flat and had an actual sleep although I did wake up a few times it was still good.

Next day it was darrens turn to be tour guide. At first look Aberdeen is well quite grey and dull. And It really is what darren said it was. There wasn't really much tour things to show. So I tried the traditional dish hagis for lunch, wasn't that bad actually apart from what it looks like. So lunch at the oldest pub in town - check, Traditional food - check. The rest of day we kinda just walked around, Darren had to pick up some new clothes. Saw where the big oil rig ships come in and I know I will go on about this when I get back and Darren probably got sick of me saying it but, the seagulls there are crazy huge, not just big but absolutely massive to the point they look like they are on steroids. Bigger than crows bigger than eagles. Looked like they could take your arm off with a quick tug. Enough about them. Second day we cruised around the other side of town saw the university of Aberdeen, the parks, a pretty freaky grave yard, had another traditional meal called stodger and bascially just chilled. There is not really much to Aberdeen, other than work, eat, drink, sleep. However I am glad that I went and saw it all and got to see where Darren came from, after hearing about it for so long. I don't think I will be returning to soon or would I be recommending it. It is another place to cross off the list.

So I am writing to you now from the train heading back to London town. You are all now caught up. I will try to write a more often so you don't have trace through huge readings. I apologise if I have rambled, will work on the non rambling factor.

ains

Advertisement



14th July 2010

yey!
Love it and you! xo

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb