Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 15th 2010
Published: July 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well its been a few days since my last entry and I thought I should update this thing and not get lazy, I left you guys when I was heading back to London town, So I'll start from there shall I.

Okay So I got to my London hostel pretty easily, it's very close to King's cross station and Russel square station which means getting around is pretty simple. The place is huge, large bathrooms, big common rooms although the bed is hard as a rock but I was so damn tired it didn't really bother me. So I dumped my bags and headed off, I met up with two friends of mine, Megan and Dan and saw their flat which was pretty good by London standards. Was awesome seeing them, but it also made me a little home sick seeing people from home. Anyway enough about that stuff, the next day I wandered around Covent Garden for a bit and then made my way to see the Sherlock Holmes Museum, Which in reality a bit of a dud the wait in the line was longer than the time you actually spend in the place. I Know it was all meant to be fake but I think they could of put in a bit more effort especially for Holmes enthusists. The gift shop, however was pretty good, After that I walked around for a bit then decided to met up with Megan and Dan for the afternoon before going out to watch the football final at the walkabout pub.

The next day I decided to do the FREE London walking Tour, Which I really liked. I know I had been to London before, but it reorientated me and the information they tell you is pretty darn good too. Our tour guide was pretty funny aswell, as they have to be because they work for the tips at the end of the tour. I met an australian on the tour as well and we were each others photographers when we wanted to be in a shot. After the tour we had some lunch at Covent Garden before going on another tour the Grim Reapers of London. Which wasn't as good, but still pretty imformative.

So the next day I was up early and heading out to Gatwick Airport, caught the Gatwick express which was pretty easy to get to. Then checked in and wandered around the airport until it was time to board. Slept most of the way to Athens which was good. Athens airport was pretty dull, completely empty. Anyway got to the Metro station which was easy but buying a ticket not so much. Nothing is in english, well not much but manage and hopped on the train. When you walk out of the train station you look left and there right before your very eyes is the Acropolis, it's like boom right there. Its absolutely amazing. I have been here four days now and I am still in awe of it. Found the hostel pretty easily dumped my stuff, said hello to the Aussie that was staying in the same room and headed out for a walk around the main square. Ended up finding more Aussies back at the hostel that knew friends that I am meeting up with on the Island which was pretty cool and we all went out for dinner that night on a roof top in Athens under the stars and the Acropolis. Very amazing.
Ill add the rest of greece a bit later as I have run out of time.

Advertisement



18th July 2010

That's so amazing, I love your photos! I am so endlessly jealous! Here's my life update, I am working 6 days a week, it's monday morning and I'm already buggered so have just had a ridiculously large coffee and am hoping it kicks in soon so I can get some work done. Keep updating, cause clearly I need to live through you! Love you all over! xoxox
19th July 2010

Acropolis
I know most of this post is about London, but when you got to Athens and the Acropolis, I could share your excitement - vicariously, that is. Hope to make a trip there early next year. http://malaysiahappytraveller.blogspot.com

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb